Day 3&4: Mountain food


Warning: I’ve became a carnivore. Gunther is the one toΒ blame thank, he introduced me to the amazing bavarian cuisine that I am in love! πŸ˜‰ I even bought a cook book yesterday!

Love #1: Dumplings! I can’t get enough of these bread noodles! They’re dense and full of flavors. This one is made with spinach and cheese. Delicious!!

SNV19800

On the mountain hut with Mara.

SNV19805

Gunther ordered beef in a heavy sauce with dumplings. I happily tried them and love the tenderness and taste of the meat. 😯 I can’t believe I’m saying that I love red meat, but that’s the truth! like me or hate me πŸ˜‰

SNV19811

My red meat “mentor”Β Gunther!

SNV19814

Dinner at the hotel which was a 5 course meal! Woooo!!!

IMG_2684.JPG

#1: Salad bar

IMG_2685.JPG

#2: pancake soup

IMG_2690.JPG

#3: cheese dumpling (according to Gunther and Mara, it was the best dumpling they’ve ever had).

IMG_2694.JPG

#4: beef (Love #2) with sprouts and mashed potato. My favorite. I finished mine and half of Mara’s plate πŸ˜‰

IMG_2697.JPG

#5: Dessert. Mara had coffee panna cotta.

IMG_2702.JPG

Gunther had vanilla ice cream with red fruit sauce

IMG_2703.JPG

I had apple strudel, a classic!

IMG_2704.JPG

Perfect reward for a ski day! πŸ˜€

Typical bavarian breakfast (Gunter’s): juice, eggs, bread, ham, cheese and butter!

IMG_2709.JPG

Mine and Mara’s

IMG_2710.JPG

IMG_2712.JPG

On our way back to Erding (Germany) we stopped here for dinner

IMG_2729.JPG

IMG_2720.JPG

A popular place indeed.

IMG_2716.JPG

The waitress wears a typical dress

IMG_2730.JPG

I had this menu

IMG_2721.JPG

I like their Christmas decoration

IMG_2733.JPG

salad: greens, pears and walnuts in a balsamic dressing. Scrumptious!! πŸ˜€

IMG_2736.JPG

my entree: rabbit cooked in a heavy sauce with clementine served with pretzel dumpling and sprouts.

IMG_2746.JPG

IMG_2747.JPG

IMG_2748.JPG

Mara had vegetable strudel

IMG_2737.JPG

Gunther had milanesa (breaded beef) with fries. Very guy type of meal πŸ˜‰

IMG_2741.JPG

Dessert: expresso with Lebkuchen

IMG_2751.JPG

Other new love (#3) that I’ve been having for breakfast everyday is fresh baked bread with butter! Yeah~ you heard me! I’m in LOVE with bread with BUTTER!!! πŸ˜€

It has been just a week but I’m so in tune with the local food. A lot of red meat, bread dumplings, bread with butter and coffee!!! I’m AMAZED, guilty free and 120% enjoy everything! πŸ˜€

Q: Does your taste buds change when you travel too?

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Day 3&4: Mountain food

  1. Wait, what? Bread noodles?! Awesome!!! I like red meat, but only if it’s in small pieces (like, Chinese-style). Steak? Ehhh, not so much. πŸ˜•

    Oooh, that 5-course meal looks lovely indeed :] I really want to steal that cheese dumpling. Your breakfast looks amazing too. Lucky lucky lucky girl!

    I haven’t traveled out of the country for a long time, so I’m not sure if my tastebuds change. πŸ˜• Continue enjoying yourself!!! Can’t wait to read all about it πŸ˜‰

  2. Everything looks completely amazing! I think when you’re on vacation you should definitely enjoy yourself!

    Seriously, warm bread and butter is delicious! So simple and oh so good! But those dumplings look to die for!

  3. I’m so glad that you are having such a nice time and that you are not only enjoying your friends but also the food!!! πŸ™‚

    And yes, I do think my taste buds change when I get exposed to a new culture… But it has been way too long since I traveled…

    Oh, and thanks for sharing all the awesome pictures! Now I want to experiment with making a cheese dumpling! It looks amazing!!!

  4. All of that looks amazing! When I travel my tastes change depending on the place. On my last ski trip, I craved salted every evening. I was a pretzel fiend.

  5. everything looks AMAZING!!! I definitely think indulging in local foods is the way to do it when you travel. There are things you might not ever have again and you have to take advantage of that!

    those dumplings look so, so good πŸ™‚

  6. whooooeee! what a great lot of food! i love that you’re trying all the local eats!

    what did you think of the panna cotta? i’ve never had it, and truthfully am afraid to try it!

  7. hahah CoCo you crack me up!! I’m SO glad to read about how honest you are with all the foods you love…red meat, butter? hahaha I am definitely in love with the Bavarian apple strudel. It looks like NOTHING you can ever get in America. Keep these great pictures coming!! I’m like you, my stomach changes when i travel to adapt to all the fabulous intriguing flavors around me. πŸ™‚

  8. I definitely eat food I wouldn’t normally eat when on vacation. I went to New Zealand so of course I had to try the lamb! Everything you are eating looks delicious! I want to try pancake soup!

  9. I love all the food you’ve been eating! But better yet….you are positively glowing! I think the mountain air suits you… πŸ™‚

  10. I am in love with all your eats and photos! Those spinach dumplings look so good. the best part about traveling is savoring the local cuisine I think. Most of our travels are centered around local food! πŸ™‚

  11. Wow, what a lucky girl!! You get to try all these amazing cuisines. I’m particularly fascinated by the coffee panna cotta, and the pancake soup!! I mean, pancake soup?! That’s sounds crazy good.

    My taste buds change, but mainly because I’m not around the typical food that I purchase or make at home. I think they change because they are forced to change, you know?

    Glad you are still having a good time! Love the pictures of you. YOu have such a great smile πŸ™‚

  12. i love red meat too! and i love you! that egg presentation is awesome. thanks for keeping us up to speed on your adventure!! always love it when you go out of town πŸ™‚

  13. I was sorry to hear about your skiing fall… good for you for going back out the next day!
    I’ve been eating bread & butter too, because I have started making my own bread. The butter is organic and very delicious.
    It’s wonderful that you’re enjoying so many new foods… I think our minds/bodies rebel sometimes when we have too many forbidden foods!
    You look great in all your photos, Coco. Keep enjoying your vacation!

  14. Everything looks wonderful! All those new dishes are so exciting! When I’m traveling I really love to experience new dishes and regional cuisine…it’s so much fun and you can really get to know a lot about a particular culture by their dishes/eating habits. Those dumplings look delish!

  15. oh, lovely! I have never been a huge fan of red meat – but these dishes may have changed my mind … divine!

  16. All the desserts look the best to me:)

  17. Mountain food looks gorgeous and delish. So glad you are having fun skiing! I’ve only been once, but it was a lot of fun (and very cold)!

  18. Girl, I LOVE meat. There’s definately NO hate here. It’s good to see some meat-eaters blogging. I get a bit bored with all the veggie stuff (but that’s just me!)

    And I love bread and butter! The best and most simple indulgence ever.

    And yes, tastes change when you travel. You come to appreciate flavours that the locals traditionally like, even if its not the kind of thing you would eat all the time or when you’re at home.

    I love the picture of the hardboiled egg! Delish πŸ™‚

  19. Awww, Coco I’m so glad to see you’re enjoying yourself πŸ™‚ Honestly, I like bread with anything, butter or not! Especially if it’s from Europe! I need to go to Europe sometime soon. It sounds fabulous!

    I think for these past couple years I’ve been in denial. When I was a kid, the only thing I would eat is bulgogi (Korean BBQ beef), and I was a very thin child. But I refused to eat various meats as an adult. However, thanks to many food bloggers, I’m trying to get over my fear and guilt and just enjoy the taste. Food is just food. Moderation and balance is the key, though, to maintain a healthy weight.

    Oh guys, are soooo predictable πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

