Day 3&4: panic attack!


As I mentioned, last weekend we went to Vipiteno Italy for ski. I haven’t ski for more than 6-7 years and my last ski experience was amazing (also with Mara). I can’t remember falling down or any pain, so I was quite excited to ski again. But this time the thing went different. The ski resort is great, the trails well maintained, not too many people and all good skiers. The only problem was that there were only intermediate trails and for someone who haven’t ski for years wasn’t very appropriate. But I didn’t mind before my first big fall in a steep slope where I couldn’t put my ski shoes back!!! After the first fall, I got a little bit scared but was still enjoying. Unfortunately on my way down to the mountain, the trail was much longer and steeper. In addition to that, I was tired. That bad combination resulted in a BIG FALL and I hit my head! šŸ˜Æ PANICKED and BLOCKED!!! I didn’t want to ski more but it was only half the trail and walking down was dangerous. Thank to Mara and Gunther who patiently waited me (I was taking a break every 30 sec) and encouraging me to try over and over again. After falling down few times more I finished the trail and the whole mountain. But I won’t lie you, I haven’t been that scared for a long time!!! I was disappointed with my performance and how chicken I was. But sometimes we have to accept the fact that we can’t do everything perfect and all the time! I had great time with my friends and that was the most important thing.

The second day was a little bit better, I did the whole mountain again and fell down only once. I could enjoy a little more but still terrified to gain speed. So I went VERY SLOWLY!!! At the end, I was proud of myself. Come on! I haven’t ski for a long time and that’s quite an accomplishment to ski the whole mountain in intermediate trail! šŸ˜€ The price? I have pain all over my body!!! šŸ‘æ

SNV19783

SNV19784 SNV19787

SNV19791

SNV19794

SNV19822

SNV19825 SNV19827

SNV19828

SNV19831

Food on the mountain was INCREDIBLE!!! Stay tune! šŸ˜€

Q: Do you ski? Have you ever got blocked or panicked?

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Day 3&4: panic attack!

  1. I am SO proud of you for getting back up and staying strong!!! I am a HUGE skiier, so I know just how you feel. Trust me, it is so important to keep going after you fall and to end on a good note. You just have to learn to trust yourself and keep trying! šŸ™‚

    You look ADORABLE in your ski outfit!!!

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. Sounds like you did a GREAT job! šŸ™‚

    I’ve only skiied a couple times and thankfully, there were beginner trails because those are the ones I took, ha!

  3. Wonderful pictures!!! This is amazing. I have never been anywhere other than NY, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia to ski (not such great mountains). But I used to go skiing at least twice a year, now it’s been almost 5 years, like you! Yikes. Actually the last time I went skiing I slipped on an ice patch and started going out of control down the mountain. I ran into someone and we plummeted down the hill super fast. I was scared out of my mind, and never got back on the slopes that trip. In fact, I haven’t been back at all! So, I feel your pain šŸ˜¦ Either way, what a FANTASTIC experience Coco!

  4. I love the pictures! I skied in Italy before many years ago… I miss skiing. And I totally understand that it’s HARD to get back into it after not doing it for several years! I admire you for going back out on the slopes on the second day!!! You are very brave! And I’m glad that you enjoyed it a bit more. Can’t wait to read about and see the food on the mountain! šŸ™‚

  5. How cute are you in your ski clothes!!! I love it!

    You’re braver than I am! My boyfriend has been wanting me to ski with him but I’m such a (broke) chicken that I always refuse! Good for you!

  6. LOVE the pictures, I do love to ski but don’t do it nearly as often as I like! I think I will go a few times this winter, but I like to call myself more a ski bunny in that I stick to teh greens and blues, no black diamonds for this foodie šŸ˜‰

    you are so brave and look so great up there on the mountain!

  7. I went skiing here for the first time last year. I took a day long beginners school.

    The morning on the bunny slope was awesome!!! lol Then we moved to a steeper/longer run and I stopped having fun. I felt like I had no control when going fast. So I would fall on purpose! ī

  8. Beautiful pictures!

    I have skiied but I’m not very good at it. I’m afraid to wipe out, too! I’ve had a couple of falls, but nothing major. I relly just don’t like doing anything in the cold! šŸ˜‰

  9. Great pictures! I am so jealous that you got to ski, I am counting down to my trips out west this February and March. I ski and snowboard and it is all a mental a game. I have noticed that when I don’t have the confidence it is a million times harder.

  10. I know how to ski, but I haven’t in like…5 years. I was soo much younger, so I really wasn’t all that scared. I avoided heavy trails though šŸ™‚

  11. i’ve never done any snow sport at all! let alone even play in it! snow terrifies me!

    but it looks gorgeous up there!!!

  12. Beautiful slopes!!! We used to go skiing every year…I miss it so much. The mountains are breathtaking!!!

  13. DiningAndDishing

    hahahha, i am the WORST skiier ever! always fall smash 0n my face. the slopes you were on are just perfect!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  14. i LOVED this post!!! SO jealous~as you know i snowboard lots and lots. i am so proud of you for going after such a long time off!

  15. Ahhh i’m SO bad at skiing i prefer snow boarding but i get SO darn sore afterwards it’s crazy!!

    Just wanted to let you know I recieved my Dr.Kracker’s in the mail yesterday! Thank you so much for checking up on them for me dear!! I really appreciate it! šŸ™‚

  16. Ahhh looks like so much fun!

    New SAHALE SNACKS giveaway, music, food + fitness – http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

    Happy TUESDAY!

    Katie

  17. Oh how fun! I went Skiing for the first time Feb of 09 and really enjoyed it. We are going to a ski resort next week to celebrate my husbands birthday.. but we are not skiing šŸ˜¦

  18. I am so jealous of your travels!!! Especially Italy!! Looks absolutely beautiful there. I haven’t gone on the slopes in a few years and I’ve never been that good šŸ™‚ I definitely panic if I get going to fast!

  19. It looks like you are having such an amazing time šŸ™‚

  20. I’m so sorry to hear about your fall! When I try to ski, I usually (ok, always!) fall too…now I just stick with cross-country skiing! šŸ™‚ Those mountain views are absolutely stunning!

Leave a Reply

