Travel: Rio de Janeiro and San Paolo


I went to Brazil last week of May, kind of last minute trip (decided on a Thursday and departed on Saturday). This time I went to Rio de Janeiro for two nights and 1 night in Sao Paolo. Traveling as part of my job is something that I really enjoy, especially as a mother and wife, although I love my life (so much), I NEED to be away from it and be with myself from time to time, ideally every 2 months or so.

I stayed again at Sofitel at Ipanema

IMG 4529

went to Delirio Tropical for late lunch after arrival, a “healthy” vegetarian friendly restaurant one block away from the hotel

IMG 4531

then I met with my coworders for dinner, in preparation for the work. I had to have octopus whenever it’s in the menu. Haven’t got tired of it yet.

IMG 4534

Started my morning on Monday with a run by the lake and beach. Gorgeous view.

IMG 4537

fruits to start the day in Brazil is the best… all the fruits are 100 times tastier there

IMG 4540

eggs, toasts with butter is my go-to breakfast items in hotels

IMG 4542

morning presentation went well and we went to a popular japanese place for lunch

IMG 4543

had sashimi bento with additional steamed dumplings

IMG 4546

the for dinner we went to a new restaurant in a chic area

IMG 4551

i had grilled fish with seasoned vegetables. Very tasty.

IMG 4552

then my coworkers (two men) suggested to have dessert at an italian ice cream place… the chocolate ice cream was to die for.

IMG 4553

then we arrived Sao Paolo, it was my first time there. I’ve heard so many things about this place so I was super excited. We had quick dinner at an italian restaurant close to the hotel (Sheraton WTC). Nothing was super exciting so I ordered fish with veggies again.

IMG 4564

as one of the coworkers is brasilian, she suggested us to have breakfast at a local place instead of the hotel… I couldn’t agree more. I’m always eager to try local food/tradition.  we went to a cafeteria, very like the ones we have in Buenos Aires

IMG 4565

I had tapioca pancake filled with turkey and white cheese. Really really good!

IMG 4566

The next day I was done with work but had an evening flight. My coworkers have left so I found myself alone with a day to spare, so I hired a private tour guide to show me the city. It was a 3 hrs tour so we drove to the main attractions in the city

IMG 4568

Sao Paolo’s central park

IMG 4569

a modern museum in the park

IMG 4571

obelisco

IMG 4572

asian neighborhood

IMG 4573

with tons of stores and restaurants, very live place

IMG 4577

central market (highly recommended by my brasilian coworker)

IMG 4581

fruit display was out of this world. So many exotic fruits that I’ve never seen before

IMG 4583

assorted dry fruits and sausages and cheese

IMG 4584

I stopped by a fruit stand and got to try many fruits

IMG 4585

soooo juicy and sweet

IMG 4587

old downtown

IMG 4594

city view… love how lively it is

IMG 4603

catedral

IMG 4605

I was impressed by the city.. the blend of diverse culture (portuguese, japanese, italian, lebanese) makes it vibrant, exotic, and live. I love it. I will definitely come back. 🙂

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under travel

2 responses to “Travel: Rio de Janeiro and San Paolo

  1. kristaskravings

    Beautiful photos! What is that white fruit your tried? It looks really creamy…

    • Coco

      Hi Krista, I don’t really know what it is, it’s super sweet, soft, and juicy. Can’t think of any fruit similar to it.

      >

Leave a Reply

