What I Ate 2/12


Last Sunday I didn’t have long run for the first time in months because I had a 5k race later. I had time to prepare a proper breakfast and enjoyed it with the family, all excited about the upcoming race.

My oatmeal had banana, chia seeds, quinoa, topped with frozen berries and crunchy almond butter. Sooooo good and filling.

IMG 9907

then we headed out for our pre-Valentine’s race. Sofia tag along together with my father in-law. After picking up the packet, both of us put the shirt to feel more festival.

IMG 3862

The weather was  uncertain that day. We were afraid that it would start to rain right before the race Fortunately it hold up until after the race. I ran the same course 7 months ago and finished 3rd place in my age group with 26 min. This time I finished at 23’56”, a new PR!!! I ended up placing 25th in overall female runners, 4th on my age group. Tony finished about 30 min and kept complaining how the ups and downs ruined his chance to PR. So not true! The course was fantastic, more downhill than up hill. He’s just out of shape, but I’m glad that we run it together. Running with my loved one is the best way to celebrate Valentines.  I know he’s not naturally inclined to run, but he’s still running twice a week about 3 miles with me. I know he does it to make me happy, I really appreciate it. Just hope one day he get bite by runner’s kick and start running seriously for himself. One can always hope! 🙂

IMG 3863

after the race, we went to Costco and Hmart

IMG 3866

arrived home just before lunch

IMG 3869

I made a stir-fry vermicelli for the family with minced pork and assorted vegetables, paired with a miso soup. They all enjoyed the meal a lot.

IMG 3871

I was craving something spicy, so I heated up last portion of jamalaya. It freezes really well. Will definitely make it again.

IMG 3870

after a nap for the whole family, we went to a friend’s party. Lizzy spent almost the entire 1.5 hrs eating puffs and berries. She didn’t even need us to be by her side as long as there was more food on her plate. People were passing by and found her so amusing.

IMG 3881

and she loved playing with the little boy… kissing, hugging, pulling his hair.. opss…

IMG 3895

the party had assorted appetizers and fruits. I had berries, cocktail shrimp and nuts. I’d rather spend the time chatting with friends than focusing on food.

Once home, I put both girls into sleep and had my evening snack to end a busy but fun day.

IMG 3575

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

