What I Ate: 1/19/17


It was a day to be remembered since it was first time I was at home with two girls all by myself from 8am to 7:30pm. And I have to say, although it was totally manageable, I gained more respect to stay at home moms. 🙂

My day started off in total darkness. I didn’t sleep well the night before, waking up around 2:40am and couldn’t sleep until almost 4am. Nonetheless, I head out at 6:35am for my run.

IMG 3297

I came across few souls on the trail. Every time I come across a runner, I’d say good morning and give my respect for the diligent runner/cyclist. I am sure they feel the same way toward me. It feels noble to be out there.

The last 0.25 mile of the run is the hilliest but I always feel huge fulfillment when I reach to the top.

IMG 3296

Once home, I prepared breakfast for Sofia and Tony. Homemade sour cream pancakes with PB for Miss Sofia, and homemade bread with assorted spreads for Tony.

IMG 3294

while they had breakfast, I fed Lizzy. Sweet potato/zucchini/pear puree was on the menu for her.

Just before 8am, we got ready to drive Tony to the metro.

IMG 3292

Once home, I nursed Lizzy while Sofia played by herself, and Lizzy went to take her nap without fuss.

IMG 3300

8:45 AM – Breakfast

Fluffy coconut pancake with peanut and chocolate sauce

IMG 9622

It has been a long time I made pancake for breakfast and oddly I craved sweet that morning so I obliged and made a big batch.

IMG 9627

It was like eating dessert for breakfast, so decadent and filling

Fluffy coconut pancake with peanut and chocolate sauce

Serves 1

2 eggs
1 egg white
4 Tbsp coconut flour
2 Tbsp flax meal
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of stevia
1/3 cup water
cooking oil/spray
2 Tbsp PB2
1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder

  1. Heat pan
  2. Separate egg yolk from egg whites
  3. Beat egg whites with an electric beater until foam
  4. Mix coconut flour with flax meal, salt, baking powder, stevia
  5. Add egg yolks to the flour mixture and add water until a thick bater consistency
  6. Fold egg whites to the flour-egg mixture
  7. Drop 1/4 cup of batter to the pan and cook for 3-4 mins, flip, and cook another 1-2 min
  8. Mix water with PB flour to make peanut butter sauce
  9. Mix water with protein powder to make chocolate sauce

Sofia and I spent the morning organizing her toys

IMG 3302

assorted her books by language (english, spanish and chinese)

IMG 3303

11:30 AM – Snack

We shared a navel orange for snack

IMG 3301

then I started to prepare dinner while Sofia did some coloring

IMG 3338

I had a big butternut squash that was sitting in the fridge for days and some leftover corn tortilla. Enchiladas sounded perfect.

I first roasted some sweet potato with coconut oil

IMG 3337

then prepared the sauce and the sweet potato & grounded beef mixture. Sofia joined me for the assembly.

IMG 3305

ready for the oven

IMG 9637

she snacked on tortilla while I did some cleaning

IMG 9646

Lizzy woke up from her nap at 12:15pm, that was solid 3 hours nap! 😀

IMG 3332

Then we went to Trader Joe’s for some groceries. We all need to get out of the house for some fresh air once a day, and doing groceries seemed to be the easiest task with two kids. Somehow they’re “trapped” in the cart.

IMG 3331

Once home, I prepared lunch for the girls. Eggs, broccoli, and pita bread for Miss Sofia. Broccoli, pancake, and yogurt for Lizzy. After lunch, they both went for a nap.

2:00 P.M. – Lunch

Sautéed cabbage, kale, and tofu in olive preserve sauce + steamed corn

IMG 3326

I was starving by the time lunch was ready, but I prefer to eat it late alone than juggling two girls at the same time.

IMG 3324

A coffee while I catch up with some work emails.

3:45 P.M. – Snack

pistachios

IMG 3323

Pistachio is my favorite nut for the moment so whenever I’m not too hungry for a snack, I’d have some for healthy fats.

At 4pm, my friend Sarah and her daughter Tara came to visit us. While Sofia and Tara played, later joined by Lizzy, Sarah and I chatted. Sarah is moving to Kenya soon so it was really nice to see her.

IMG 3322

They left around 6pm. Tony texted me that he was running late so I had dinner with the girls by myself.

6:45 P.M. – Dinner

Sweet potato & beef enchilada served with avocado

IMG 3329

It was my first time making and eating enchilada. I was happily surprised by how easy it was to make for something truly delicious.

After dinner, I gave a bath to Lizzy. Love seeing her chewing bath toys.

IMG 3321

By 7:20 pm, she was in bed with Pj and full belly of milk. 🙂

Tony arrived home almost 8 pm. Heated up enchiladas for him which he loved as well. Then I asked him to read a book to Sofia while I had my ME time with my kabocha.

IMG 3320

By 9pm, I was in bed with a cup of chocolate almond milk and a book. Perfect way to unwind my day full of silly words, diapers, and home errands.

IMG 3339

First time of “stay at home mom of two” went well. It gave me confidence for the time I’ll have to do more of these in a couple of months. It is so true that with kids days are long but years are short. Always remember this to cherish every long day. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Journal, life, Uncategorized

2 responses to “What I Ate: 1/19/17

  1. VH

    How do you make your kabocha? It always looks so good!

Leave a Reply

