What I Ate -1/12/17


I love my routines because it usually start with a run during the sunrise

Image4

I am someone who values individuality despite mounting life responsibilities. Thus that morning hour in the nature, still cold and dark, either listening my favorite podcast or my breathing, it is the moment to connect with the most important person , myself.

Image3

when I’m back, sun has came out, family has woke up, the day has officially started.
IMG 3199

Quick shower, put biz appropriate cloth, and 5 min makeup routine. I head down to have food.

7:50 A.M. – Breakfast

2 sunny eggs, 2 slices of multigrain sourdough toasts, and big piece of goat cheese with blueberries.

Image1 1

I’ve been having this combo for months and still loving it. It has a good mix of protein, whole grains and healthy fat. Protein in breakfast is key for me to not be hungry an hour later, and usually savory meals satisfy me more.

Morning commute was bad but not terribly. After dropping Sofia to the daycare, I arrived office past 9 A.M. Dig into work right away.

11:15 A.M. – Snack

A fig bar 

Image1 3

I don’t snack unless I’m hungry. But since I’m nursing and running, I find myself hungry more often so I’d have a snack small enough just to abate the hunger. Fig bar is made with whole grain, organic fruits, and without corn syrup.

Just before lunch I went to a talk on “How to teach our children to be more resilient”

Image6

My main takeaway is that resilience is an acquired skill just like math. So, the more we help our kids practice being resilient (with empathy, putting in perspective, problem solving mindset), the more they can develop that skill.

1:00 P.M. – Lunch

Noodle bowl with assorted vegetables and shrimp with chicken curry broth

Image2 1

I met with a friend for lunch. Her son is 3 days older than Sofia so we had a lot to talk about. 4 years olds are funny little persons. 🙂

4:00 P.M. – Snack

KIND bar – dark chocolate chili almond

Image3 1

I met a friend from grad school for an afternoon break. I am really lucky to have good friends working either in my organization or across the street. So, often time when we need a break from the computer, we’d meet for a quick chat.

For snack I had a KIND bar, the best flavor I’ve had so far. I like KIND bar because it has simple ingredients, nuts, fruits and whole grain. No artificial or unpronounceable ingredients.

FullSizeRender 3

I left office at 5:30pm and went to pick up Sofia. She always welcomes me but at the same time she wants to play just one more minute. 🙂 Playing is so important for children for their development, so I let her play a bit more.

6:20 P.M. – Dinner

curry chicken, taro root, bok choy, tofu with seafood stew, and smoked tofu with edamame and green bell pepper

Image4 2

My mom always welcomes us with dinner ready when we step in the house. We like to have assorted vegetables and 1-2 protein dishes.

After I finished dinner, I fed Lizzy. She’s such a good eater, usually finishes it in <5 min! Such a relief for not having two slow eaters. 🙂

Image5

Then we had family play time. Sofia took the lead and Lizzy followed her around. It made me smile just looking at them.

FullSizeRender 1

then I had the second part of my dinner KABOCHA!

Image6 1

I don’t usually eat white rice/bread/pasta, but carb is essential so I rely mostly on kabocha/corn/sweet potato for that.

After kids were in bed, I finally changed to my Pj. The moment I put it on, I feel relaxed. I usually take good 20 min to change, take off makeup, skincare, and brush teeth. I do it alone when the house is quiet, again a moment to connect with myself at the end of the day.

FullSizeRender

last ritual of the day…. I make a tea and take it to bed while I do some reading. I’ve been loving ginger tea with tumeric

FullSizeRender 2

My hubby was waiting for me in bed. We curdled up, catch up with each other about our days, and then light was out by 9:30PM.

1 Comment

Filed under Journal

One response to “What I Ate -1/12/17

  1. I always love your “day in my life” posts! Looks like it was a delicious and healthy day!

    The photo of the two girls playing is too cute.

Leave a Reply

