Travel: Salvador, Brazil


I travelled to Salvador, the state of Bahia in Brazil last week for work. It was my second trip to Brazil but first time in Bahia.

I was super excited for this trip because I haven’t traveled for work since July last year. So it was nice to travel and have sometime alone. I think all moms feel the same way no matter how much we love our kids.

One mini incident was that my checked luggage didn’t arrive with me. I was supposed to take the luggage out at Sao Paolo, but the united agent told me that it was checked all the way to Bahia. So I didn’t have my luggage for a day. Fortunately I was prepared for it and had all the pumping equipment with me. Lesson learned, have all the necessities in carry-on.

We stayed at Mercure Rio Vermello hotel, with a small beach. This is the view from the gym when I logged my runs.

IMG 2141

the hotel was just okay. The room was small and basic. The food was average but the view was amazing.

IMG 2154

I always have egg omelets, fruits and toasts with butter for breakfast.

IMG 2152

but tried local food as well: this is a coconut tapioca porridge

IMG 2155

a tapioca flour pancake. I had ham and cheese as filling.

IMG 2156

then cheese bread.

IMG 2157

It was a privilege to work by the infinity pool. Such a relaxing view.

IMG 2161

Local food is mainly seafood. So I had plenty of them. this one is a seafood stew cooked with bread.

IMG 2136

on the last day of work, I went to explore the city with colleagues and we had some snacks by the beach

IMG 2163

we had coquettes, one with meat and one with salted bacalao.

IMG 2162

then we had street food for dinner

IMG 2166

this is acaraje, a dish made from peeled beans formed into a ball and then deep-fried in palm oil. Super rich dish.

IMG 2167

and a tapioca pancake

IMG 2169

IMG 2171

I had one with cheese, sun dried tomato  and basil. Super super tasty! I loved it, will definitely try to make it soon.

IMG 2174

IMG 2175

My flight was scheduled for 4:30pm, so I went to explore the old town called pelourinho. It was the city’s center during the Portuguese colonial period and was named for the whipping post in its central plaza where African slaves received punishment for various infractions, as well as for disciplinary purposes.

IMG 2180

IMG 2183

IMG 2187

IMG 2189

IMG 2190

IMG 2191

then it was time to go back home. I missed the girls so much.

IMG 2198

Lizzy had fever for 3 days. Tony was super worried because I was not there to tell him what to do. And seeing Lizzy down was heart breaking to him. But fortunately she didn’t seem too bothered as she continued to eat and sleep well, and the fever went away by itself.

IMG 2150

IMG 2143

Tony was in charge of giving Lizzy bottle in the early morning (6am) and take Sofia to school.

IMG 2149

but he did so well. I’m so proud of him.

Once I was back Saturday morning, I spent the day unpacking, catching up with the family and in the evening, we took Sofia to a Halloween party at a community center.

IMG 2199

Sofia had fun and came back with a lot of candies.

IMG 2202

on Sunday it was Pumpkin caving time! As usual Tony was in charge.

IMG 2212

Sofia helped to take out the seeds

IMG 2218

and Lizzy was in charge of being CUTE 😀

IMG 2222

we had the idea of putting her in a pumpkin for a long time! We couldn’t find a big enough one to fit her in, so we did some carving and voila!

IMG 2227

and the final product

IMG 2244

after nap, we played togetherIMG 2245

IMG 2249

IMG 2257

IMG 2251

final product, thanks to Tony

IMG 2269

it was a busy week. Traveling is always tiring but it was a good getaway for me. It made me realize even more how lucky I am to have the family I have, to have a supportive husband, a helping mom and two lovely girls.

I love my life!

1 Comment

Filed under Journal, travel

One response to “Travel: Salvador, Brazil

  1. kristaskravings

    Beautiful photos! What a great opportunity to work at such a beautiful place. And I love Lizzy in the pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

