First encounter with our baby 8/24


IMG_8820

So we finally met with our baby today. It was our first appointment with the OB, the same one that delivered Sofia. We first went through the routine talk… LMP, expected due date, the dates for the next tests (13 weeks, 16 weeks, and 20 weeks). And then we did the vaginal ultrasound, immediately we saw the sac. And then after few twists, we saw the baby, and then the heart beat!!! Tony was by my side all the time and it was wonderful that we got to meet the baby together!!!

Then we did blood and pee work, a lot of blood, 6 bottles!!! I was about to faint but well… all for the health of the baby.

The “bad” news was that my doctor can’t deliver this baby. He has decided to stop working as OB since he’s almost 70 years old. I understand how much work it involves to delivering a baby, but still sad that he can’t deliver our baby. He’s a great doctor and always gave me comfort and sense of security. Now, we will have to find another doctor, hopefully someone that I can trust too.

Now… let’s start the routine report of weekly progress. For the last two weeks:

  • Totally miserable!!!! I’ve been extremely tired ALL DAY LONG!!! And nausea MOST OF THE DAY!!! Morning sickness, thank you very much but I really don’t like you!!! 😦
  • Sleep: I fall asleep around 9pm most of the days and wake up around 6:30am the next time. Still I’m super tired and feel needing a nap several times a day.
  • Cravings: none. It’s the opposite that happens. Everything that I used to eat (corn, kabocha, coffee, cereal, chocolates, bread, any kind of fruit except water melon, cookies, bar, yogurt, even salads), I find them disgusting, it causes me nauseas only thinking about them. So, I ended up in the situation that I don’t know what to eat. Figuring out that it’s a real challenge. On top of that, if I don’t eat every 2-3 hrs, nausea comes back and I feel worse. So eating small meals through out the day is important. But again… what can I eat? Fortunately, I still like vegetables, only in cooked form. So, I can eat normal meals most of the time at home. However, if I eat something that I can tolerate too many times, I don’t want to see it anymore. So… what to eat everyday is still a challenge I face everyday.
  • Appetite/hunger. I don’t know if my hunger level is higher or lower. I am definitely eating overall less than before, don’t get hungry often, but when I get it, I get it badly, with stomach pain, bad pain! 😦
  • Exercise: I didn’t work out for the 10 days we went in Yellowstone. And when we came back, my energy level was even lower, so I skipped few days. And even when I work out, 30 min of ET or incline walking at 3.7 miles/hr is all I can handle now.
  • Other: constipation and bloating, just like last pregnancy. I’ve taken metamucil, flaxseed + plum juice, and even solace. They work sometimes. But I guess it’s a problem that I’ll face for the next 7 months.
  • Skin: no major change, no acne so far.
  • Pain: none.
  • Weight: I’ve lost 1.5 kg in the last 3 weeks. Normal during first trimester.

Picture taken on 8/26.

IMG 8830

IMG 8835

IMG 8836

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

