Travel: relaxed time in shanghai


Four weeks in Shanghai was a great break for me. I missed the long breaks. I haven’t had one since 2011. It is a luxury to have this kind of vacation when one has a job. I am lucky to have many leave days. I didn’t take long leaves since I was pregnant and didn’t want to travel long with a small baby. So this time around, when deciding how long it would be, I said as long as I can. 🙂

Unfortunately I didn’t start enjoying right away because I was jet lag for at least 10 days. Would wake up around 2-3 am and couldn’t go back to sleep. This made me not feeling myself during the day. But when the jet lag was over, I was all about going out and do things.

First, I found a cool yoga place EasyBox Studio. It is located in a renovated old building

IMG_2427

they kept the inside, which shows how a rich family in shanghai live 50 years ago.

IMG_2441 IMG_2444

I used to sign up for a gym when visiting shanghai but this time I craved yoga and I am glad I did that. The instructors are nice and they offered a good variety of styles.

IMG_2588

yoga could be a great workout for mind and body

IMG_2699

Sofia was my companion most of the days. It’s just so funny to watch her exploring new places

IMG_2696

I met with my friends and we chat long hours while tasting exotic teas.

IMG_2706

visited art exposition

IMG_2380

had organic food

IMG_2386

all grown in the backyard!

IMG_2388 IMG_2389

IMG_2391 IMG_2393

IMG_2392

coffee in the evening when everything was quiet… perfect for heart to heart conversations

IMG_2714

pairing it with cake, obviously 😉

IMG_2713

July 31 was our three year anniversary… and we took a day trip to Hangzhou

IMG_2758

visited a temple

IMG_2813

had a delicious local meal

IMG_2815

walked along the west lake, the icon of the city.

IMG_2817

we enjoyed the time together as we talked about our 13 years journey.

IMG_2770

Star surprised me by booking the executive first class seat on the train. So comfortable!

IMG_2818

For the chinese valentines, we went to a restaurant by the Bund to appreciate shanghai’s night light

IMG_2876

while savoring typical shanghainese food, very tasty!
IMG_2970

It amazed me that we shared life with each other for 13 years already, and a beautiful girl. Hope the next 13 or 30 years are even better.

IMG_2967

An old classmate of mine opened a cafe in a campus. It’s refreshing to escape the city and immerse oneself within the students crowd.

IMG_2997

I met with Kaffee, who visited me few months ago, several times. We’ve came a long way to be where we are, the best we’ve ever been and I am so grateful.

IMG_3043

Of all the food I had in china, my favorites were Japanese

IMG_3041

IMG_3065

IMG_3066

what’s even better than the food was the company. It’s so nice to re-meet old friends… although our lives have changed so much since the last time we met, old and good friendships are still there, which is heart warming.

IMG_3068

The four weeks stay was so amazing that I am already looking forward to the next trip to Shanghai! Although I want to visit new places, Shanghai is a safe place that I always want to go back! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Travel: relaxed time in shanghai

  1. that japanese food looks amazing.

    what a wonderful trip. you are glowing, happy to be with family and friends!

  2. Sounds like you had a great time reconnecting with friends. That’s always so enjoyable!

  3. Anonymous

    What’s wrong with your belly button?

Leave a Reply

