Life: week 6/16


Last week was a full week so by the end of it, I was exhausted!!! Not-want-to-get-up type of exhaustion. Maybe it was because I had to work on Friday, or maybe it was just accumulation of two weeks as “single” mom with full time job kind of exhausted. However, I am still extremely grateful for having such an easy-going, helpful and mostly collaborative girl.

Nowadays she even picks her own outfit sometimes. 😉

IMG_1697

don’t be fooled with this pic… beneath that “mask” I was tiiiiiireeeeedddd!!!!

IMG_1718

Finally it was Saturday, a pouring saturday, but didn’t stop us to visit farmer’s market

IMG_1720

here’s out purchases at the market:

  • butter lettuce
  • basil
  • parsley
  • collard greens
  • rainbow carrots
  • zucchini & summer squash
  • green onion
  • eggs

IMG_1724

I’m obsessed with summer squash, specially roasted!!! oh… those  tomatoes are amazing too!

next stop: My Organic Market where we got

IMG_1725

next was Target:

  • Mum mum
  • Aveno moisturizer and wash
  • freezed edamame
  • mini raisin
  • bread flour
  • avocado

IMG_1727

last stop Great Wall:

  • winter melon
  • asian pear
  • naval orange
  • purple sweet potato
  • peaches
  • tomato
  • cucumber
  • mini mango
  • apricot

IMG_1729

All those groceries for a total of: $120. I guess eating fresh and local could be expensive.

Afternoon was spent watching soccer games. We have a mini fan! 🙂

IMG_1735

and then 2.5 hrs nap for both of us. It was glorious!!! I feel so much more rested after that. So I made almond flour pancakes for Sofia

IMG_1740

and then we went on a ride, the second time with Sofia. The first time she complained a lot during the last half hour (1 hr in total) so I was a bit worried if she still doesn’t like it, I might have to return the trailer. But for my surprise, she didn’t complain at all. Furthermore, she seemed quite excited. I guess a stop at the play ground helped!

IMG_1744

Sunday: I was still exhausted and felt I was done for the day after just breakfast. But I knew if I didn’t change my attitude, it was going to be a miserable day for both of us. So, we dressed up and went to the church anyway.

IMG_1750

Sofia was excited to get out of the house

IMG_1759

can you tell?

IMG_1763

once home, she was already asking for food, babbling “hambre hambre”

IMG_1771

after lunch, another 2 hrs nap for S but not for me. I did some reading instead. And then went for another ride and play

IMG_1776

this new playground is bigger and has more equipment, Sofia was really excited exploring them all

IMG_1783

IMG_1791

look how cute she is wanting to give me kisses through her little world

IMG_1796

IMG_1800

The yummiest thing I ate last week was this baguette (Mediterranean avocado on artisan bread) from Pret a manger. I had it as snack and it was so good that I finished it all!

IMG_1719

How I missed baguette! after that, I wanted to make my own baguette. I used this recipe, which is simple although the entire process took over 2 days.

IMG_1774

I baked it this morning and was quite pleased with the result

IMG_1807

it was not as crispy as the baguette you get at store but the taste is pretty close. I think part of the difference comes from the fact that this baguette is half whole wheat.

IMG_1808

can’t wait to make my own Mediterranean avocado sandwich! 🙂

Q: What’s your favorite kind of bread? Mine is definitely french multigrain baguette.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Life: week 6/16

  1. I’m glad that Sofia isn’t afraid of the playground equipment after her fall! Sounds like the 2 of you ended up having a good weekend together. 🙂

  2. thedelicateplace

    i am growing tomatoes, butter lettuce and zucchini in my back yard! i also really love purple sweet potatoes (i shop exclusively at an asian market in pgh so i always get them and nice winter melons)!

Leave a Reply

