Travel: Chile 2014


I just came back from Santiago de Chile, a business trip that ended up being an adventure! why? because we had earthquake! 😯

okay. let’s start from the beginning. It was my third time in Santiago, second time traveling for work. It’s a privilege to be able to travel for work to Chile, specially when I could travel in business 😉 This time I traveled with Delta

IMG_0140

I had a single seat with no one besides me. Yeah~ A welcome snack that I finished in 2 min 😉 Love Sahale snacks

IMG_0141

pillow and blanket were provided because it was a night flight (11pm-9am)

IMG_0142

the seat not only goes flat, it even offers massage 😯

IMG_0146

I brought two books with me

IMG_0136

necessities for in-flight-spa 😉

IMG_0137

ready to relax

IMG_0144

the menu looks very good

IMG_0145

starter: smoked salmon, lentil salad and sunrise cocktail (it was okay, I had few bites)

IMG_0148

appetizer: beet arugula salad with feta, creamy cauliflower soup and bread (finished the salad and the bread)

IMG_0151

entree: sea bass with greens and polenta (the fish was delicious, I could have had a second serving of it. It was the beginning of my culinary adventure for this trip!)

IMG_0152

the dessert cart came

IMG_0154

and I went with the flan

IMG_0156

I watched a movie and slept 5-6 hrs. Shortly after I woke up, breakfast was served

IMG_0157

After checking in at the hotel I met with my colleagues for lunch.  I had a beef soup and this avocado shrimp salad

IMG_0160

The rest of the week was a bit hectic… meeting after meetings. Fortunately the weather was really nice and sunset was specially beautiful.

IMG_0162

Food was really good this time because my colleagues know where to go.

this place is called “aqui esta coco” (here it is Coco), so matching right?

IMG_0164

fancy decor

IMG_0172

three of us shared two appetizers: octopus

IMG_0166

and ceviche of assorted seafood

IMG_0168

for entree: I had sea bass with sauteed veggies.

IMG_0169

and we shared a plate of dessert testing

IMG_0171

although it was pricey, the food was really good. Fresh ingredients, well prepared, good presentation and great service!

Look the view where we had breakfast, at 21st floor

IMG_0184

IMG_0182

the food was fresh and good, but limited in variety. I had this combo almost everyday: 2 hard boiled eggs, fruits and toasts with butter.

IMG_0173

we had lunch in different places but I only remembered to take pics at Baco

IMG_0175

look this sign: (we don’t have wifi, talk among you). so funny!

IMG_0176

we all had this salad: smoked salmon with salmon salad

IMG_0174

another great dinner place: Rivoli. We were skeptical at first and wondered why the assistant picked that place because from outside, the restaurant looked mediocre, a typical family style italian place. But our skepticism didn’t go far, once the appetizer came, we all agreed it was going to be a good dinner. 5 of us shared 3 appetizers:

grilled octopus on couscous

IMG_0178

ricotta accompanied by dry tomatoes and smoked salmon

IMG_0179

mozzarella and dry tomatoes in olive oil

IMG_0180

as entree I had grilled sea bass with sautéed mushrooms and zucchini. Absolutely DELICIOUS!!!

IMG_0181

this place was the best of all during this trip! I am marking it down for my next time in Santiago. 🙂

On Wednesday night, we were invited to someone’s house for dinner. While we were chatting over wine and steak, a 8.2 degree earthquake happened on the north of Chile. We didn’t feel it but the news came out as Chile had a 8.2 earthquake, so emails/message/calls came altogether to check how I was doing. 😯

IMG_0177

fortunately there was no major damage but still 6 people died because it was followed by a tsunami the next day. On Friday 6:53am, while I was still in bed, I felt a shake! An earthquake of 5.4 occurred in a town 50km from Santiago. I got scared this time because the shake felt so real! I changed my air-ticket and left Friday evening. Later my colleagues who left few hours after me told me that another earthquake occurred that night, it was stronger and the light went off for 1 min. How scary!!!

IMG_0197

on my way back, I worked and ate like a beast 😉

starter: smoked tune filled with goat cheese and cauliflower

IMG_0187

appetizer: capresse salad, mushroom soup and WW bun 

IMG_0191

entree: chopped lamb, sauteed zucchini with pepper and orzo salad

IMG_0194

dessert: strawberries, pecan pie and chocolate cake (the chocolate cake was one of the best cake I’ve ever had!!!)

IMG_0196

after all these food, I slept like a baby 😉

IMG_0198

glad to be back to a “safe”ground!

It was a nice trip. Interesting meetings, delicious food, fun colleagues to hang out and bit of adventure. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Travel: Chile 2014

  1. Ah scary! Glad to hear you’re ok!

  2. That certainly sounds like an adventure! And Delta looks like a terrific flight. 🙂

  3. Anonymous

    genial el cartel de wi fi!!

Leave a Reply

