Travel: a short trip to Shanghai


Hey there! How you started 2014? I started with an amazing trip to Shanghai! I didn’t plan for it so it was a last minute kind of lovely surprise. The official reason of the trip was to go for a training, and the real reason was to visit friends and family… in particular, Star and my Dad! 🙂

After Star picked up at the airport, we checked in at the Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, one of the best places to stay in Shanghai (luxurious hotel and centered location)

IMG_8938

IMG_8937

here’s my man…. How I missed him

IMG_8956

Sunday morning: we went out for some local breakfast

IMG_8939

it was a beautiful day so we walked around the hotel to digest

IMG_8941

Christmas decor was still on

IMG_8944

then we picked up my dad and went to Star’s home to celebrate his mom’s birthday. We also invited my niece

IMG_8949

the food

IMG_8952

and a chocolate mousse cake

IMG_8964

Shortly after the celebration, Star went back to Shenzheng, where he works. We were both sad but expectant to our next reunion, the following weekend. 

I had training M-F (morning). Most of the days I had to deal with jet lag 😦 but always felt better after my morning workout

IMG_8967

after the training, I met with friends & family almost everyday. It was nice to catch up with them after being away 2.5 years, specially after having Sofia, we had so much more to share. 

IMG_9007

Star came back on Friday evening and we started the weekend exploring the indoor pool

IMG_9014

look how luxurious is the changing room

IMG_9017

I felt spoiled 😉

IMG_9018

it has sauce, steaming room and Jacuzzi too, of which I enjoyed very much

IMG_9019

i missed swimming……

IMG_9025

it is located on 7th floor with a spectacular view

IMG_9029

IMG_9032

then we started our day fresh~~ we first went to a glasses center where I got a new pair of glass 

IMG_9046

then we went to explore some old neighbors in shanghai…. rare to find these days

IMG_9047

it was a rainy day but both Star and I were specially excited. 

IMG_9051

it has been a long time since we explored a city by ourselves… we definitely missed the feeling

IMG_9054

we felt like a newly married couple… ridiculously romantic 😉

IMG_9059

we had seafood porridge for lunch at my favorite porridge place in the city

IMG_9062

continued the walk and did some shopping

IMG_9063

although I got used to be living away of Star, being with him again made me realize even more I much I miss him. 

IMG_9066

meanwhile, Sofia spent her days playing with grandma. She was a bit bored at home because she couldn’t go to the daycare, but they managed. Look how grandma entertained her

IMG_9072

when I came back, she welcomed me with this melt-my-heart look

IMG_9075

my baby…. I missed you sooo much!!!!!

It was a WONDERFUL trip. I got to spend some quality time with my Dad (I visited him everyday!) and Star. The opportunity of reunite with Star alone was specially useful to reconnect us with each other, we talk about ourselves and our future as a family. I loved every minute of that. We definitely have to do it every now and then, to reconnect as a couple. It’s good for the soul. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Travel: a short trip to Shanghai

  1. Happy 2014, Coco!

    Glad you got to see Star, your dad, and friends and family!

  2. What a great trip! Glad you were able to catch up with family and friends while away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

