My everyday life: week 11


Last week was fun, we had the Christmas and Birthday Party, I had half day of “work” and a lot of play time at home. Although I am not taking any leave during the holiday season, I feel like being on holidays!!! My mind is just off no matter how hard I try to focus on work.

On Thursday, I picked Sofia up from the daycare after lunch because she was one of the two kids that showed up that day, I felt sorry to have to leave her there alone when the other kid is gone. What she enjoys the most at the daycare is to play with other kids…. not playing with each other but paralell playing, so she gets bored if no one is there. We went home, played a bit more and went out for a walk. She fell asleep on our way back

IMG_8849

On Friday, we went groceries shopping, one of our favorite activities… me for buying the food, Sofia for testing out new food.

IMG_8852

IMG_8855

she also gets bored waiting on the line

IMG_8857

haven’t showed you our groceries for a while

IMG_8862

trips to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s

IMG_8863

IMG_8864

New-to-me products: chicken cilantro mini wontons and pappardelle (both for Sofia)

IMG_8865IMG_8866

WW tortilla and Maple Apple breakfast links, both for Sofia. I made a tortilla filled with broccoli and cheese and she liked it. She’s not a big fan of meat, any kind but she liked these links!!! 😆

IMG_8867 IMG_8868

a new kind of greek yogurt for me… and non-GMO canola oil. did you know that almost all canola oil in the US is GMO?

IMG_8869 IMG_8870

Last minute trip: I’m going to Shanghai 😯 I’m going for a training for a week. When the opportunity came, I first wanted to take Sofia and mom with me, but after a bit more thought among the family, we decided not to risk because January is cold season, the pollution is bad and we really don’t want Sofia to get sick there. Then, the opportunity seemed too good, an all paid trip to Shanghai? how could I pass this? So thanks to mom, I’m going and Sofia will be staying at home with my mom.

In preparation for the trip, I cooked and freezed breakfast/snack for Sofia.

#1: Breakmilk pancake

  • 3/4 cup breast milk
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp coconut oil or butter
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder

IMG_8871

Triple almond muffin

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 TB honey
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1.25 cup almond flour
  1. mix egg yolks with honey and salt, add almond flour and baking soda
  2. beat egg whites until stiff
  3. incorporate 1 into 2 in batches
  4. bake at 350F for 20 min.

IMG_8872

Lemon Blueberries scones with cream

  • 1 cup WW flour
  • 1.25 cup baby oatmeal cereal
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 5 TB butter, cold, cut into chunks
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  1. sift together the dry ingredients into a bowl
  2. add lemon zest and the butter to coat the pieces with flour (with a folk). the mixture should look like coarse crumb.
  3. pour the cream into the center.
  4. add blueberries and fold everyting until mixed
  5. press the dough and cut, bake for 15-20 min at 400F until golden brown.

IMG_8873

banana waffles (replaced pumpkin with banana)

IMG_8875

pumpkin bread

  • 1/2 cup WW Flour
  • 1/2 cup baby oatmeal
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 Tb butter, melted
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 eggs
  • 2 Tb brown sugar

Mix all ingredients together. Pour into mini loaf pan. Bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes, or until knife comes out clean.

IMG_8881

On Saturday we went to a friends’ for lunch. She was so happy to play around with my friends, everyone wanted to “please” her and even competing among them to see who she prefered. 🙂

IMG_8887

We stayed at home on Sunday. I cooked her pappardelle with bolognese sauce. To my surprise, she loved it! Usually she doesn’t like new food the first time she tries it. It takes about 3 or more times of trying to convince her to eat. But this time was different, she had the pasta and the breakfast link for the first time and she loved them both, almost finished the plate.

IMG_8897

my lunch: roasted butternut squash and brussel sprounts in olive, salt, pepper and cinnamon, paired with pan-seared chick’n scallopini

IMG_8898

I also finished a book this week. It’s about dinner, familly, parenting, recipes and tips and tricks of being working-mom. I really enjoyed reading it. I love the idea of family dinner, a tradition that we will practice when Sofia is old enough to have dinner and conversation with us.  The recipes are simple and have a story behind each of them, which makes them more special.

IMG_8899

Happy New Year to you ALL! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My everyday life: week 11

  1. What a great grocery haul! Glad Sofia liked her meal….pasta is always a winner! Have a safe trip, Coco. 🙂

  2. Sofia is such a little cutie! Grocery shopping is one of my favorite activities too. 🙂 Hope you have a great time in Shanghai!

    Wishing you a very Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

