Life: Thanksgiving 2013


Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Hope you had a wonderful celebration with your loved ones. We certainly did! πŸ™‚

First order of business…. what I’m thankful this year:

  • I’m thankful to have Sofia in my life, the best gift I could ever ask and ever imagined.
  • I’m thankful to have my mom living with us. I hope my dad continues to recover well and will join us next year.
  • I’m thankful to have Star, although we’ve been apart for the last 13 months, I’m really looking forward to have him next year and stay together ever after.
  • I’m thankful to have a job that I truly love, which allows me to accomplish myself professionally.Β 
  • I’m thankful to have a small circle of close friends who I can rely on and accept me just as I am.
  • I’m thankful to be healthy and content 99% of the time.Β 
  • I’m thankful to love have the life I have ! πŸ˜€

Instead of Thanksgiving dinner, we made it Thanksgiving lunch because my friend Sarah and I both have a small kid and dinner wouldn’t work. I decorated the table for 5 adults and 2 kids.

IMG_8378

I was in charge of making 5 side dishes. Stuffing preparation:

IMG_8371

to be more special, I made blue cornbread

IMG_8372

ready to be baked

IMG_8373

thanksgiving is all about stuffing right? Stuffed turkey, stuffed squash, and stuffed our belly πŸ˜‰

IMG_8375

I made stuffed kabocha with quinoa and pomegranate

IMG_8376

everything ready for the guests to arrive

IMG_8377

while we waited, Sofia played and munched puffs

IMG_8380

although we dine in, I still dressed up for the occasion

IMG_8389

Okay. the menu:

Harvest salad made with kale, roasted squash, quinoa, cranberry and dressed with fig balsamic + olive dressing. YUM YUM YUM~~~

IMG_8394

Roasted kabocha stuffed with quinoa and pomegranate

IMG_8396

Sauteed green beans

IMG_8397

Sour cream mashed potato

IMG_8398

Sausage cornbread stuffing that was ABSOLUTELY delicious!!! Are we allowed to eat stuffing in non thanksgiving days??? πŸ™„

IMG_8400

Sarah brought turkey with gravy (store bought)

IMG_8411

IMG_8401

Sofia and Tara were eager to start the meal

IMG_8406

My plate: a bit of everything!!! I loved all the side dishes, the turkey was just the excuse to have all the other dishes. After this, I had more of the side dishes, soooo good!!!

IMG_8412

Sarah also brought dessert. She made a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing

IMG_8414

and a pecan pie

IMG_8415

together with cream peach ice cream!

IMG_8418

We really did stuffed ourselves. πŸ˜‰

As the adults chat, the babies played with the turkey

IMG_8427

IMG_8428

Does she look like me? I swear I looked like her when I was her age!

IMG_8429

my celebration buddy~~

IMG_8425

It was a lovely thanksgiving celebration, the first of our extended family tradition for years to come! πŸ˜€

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Life: Thanksgiving 2013

  1. Looks & sounds like a great Thanksgiving celebration!

    I love the second of last pic of Sofia!

    Have a great week!

  2. a lovely celebration indeed! that kale salad looks super tasty πŸ™‚

  3. What a delicious looking feast!

Leave a Reply

