Recipe: 4 toddler meal recipes


Now that Sofia loves eating by herself, I need to make self-feeding friendly meals for her. However, it took me a lot of search and book readings to get inspirations for toddler friendly finger foods. Furthermore when I talk with my friends who has young kids, they always ask me what I give to Sofia because they know I like cooking and don’t like buying package food. So, I think writing posts on toddler meals would be useful for readers and myself for future reference.

When I create recipes, I always

  • make tasty food. If I don’t find it tasty, neither would Sofia. 
  • nutritious dense because I always pair them with fresh vegetables and fruits.
  • freezing friendly. Since it’s hard to make single toddler serving meals, I always freeze the rest. 
  • finger food. Sofia still doesn’t use utensils so anything that is too mushy or liquid wouldn’t work.

Here are four easy to make, nutritious and tasty recipes.

IMG_8254

Corn Carrot Quinoa muffin (Toddler serv size: 2 muffins/meal)

  • 1 cup carrots chopped and boiled
  • 1 cup corn frozen or canned
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 TB parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup panko

Mix everything in the food processor, bake at 375F for 20 min.

IMG_8322

Kale chicken quinoa patties (Toddler serv size: 1 palm size pancake/meal)

  • 1/2 cup frozen chopped kale prepared as indicated
  • 1 medium potato steamed and mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup cooked shredded chicken
  • S+P

Mix everything in the food processor and cook as pancake, 3-4 min each side.

IMG_8325

Cauliflower Broccoli Croquets (Toddler serv size: 2-3 croquets/meal)

  • 1 cup cauliflower, steamed
  • 1 cup broccoli, steamed
  • 1/2 cup onion chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup panko
  • 2 TB oat bran
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozarella
  • S+P

Mix in food processor, bake at 375F for 20 min, flip once.

IMG_8326

Butternut squash apple chicken bites

  • 1 cup butternut squash, roasted
  • 1 cup apple, chopped
  • 1 cup cooked shredded chicken
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup panko
  • 2 TB oat bran
  • S+P

Mix in food processor, bake at 375F for 20 min.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

