Life: 5 days in Managua


Last week I was in Managua, my second time there. Although work was intense, it was very interesting meeting with different local counterparts to learn how the country is run.

The first 2 days I wasn’t feeling well because I was still exhausted from lack of sleep, and my mouth was uncomfortable because I had a oral surgery before the trip. But overall it was a good trip (minus the fact that I missed Sofia terribly)

Flight meal: salad, vegetarian lasagna and tiramisu. Not bad! 🙂

IMG_6966

As last trip, due to the tight schedule I didn’t have time for proper lunch. Instead I had big breakfast, snacked on trail mix and cereal, and had good dinner most of the days.

A big breakfast means: 1 plate of fruit

IMG_6967

salad + 2 hard boiled eggs

IMG_6968

more fruit and egg and toast with jam and butter

IMG_6969

room service dinner

IMG_6988

grilled chicken with vegetables.

IMG_6989

I find having vegetables while traveling very challenging. The local people don’t eat much vegetables so the menu has few options with veggies.

Another breakfast: fruits

IMG_6972

salad

IMG_6971

veggie omelette with toasts

IMG_6973

No wonder I don’t get hungry until 2 or 3 pm. 😉

This time I got a taste of local street food. There are street venders everywhere selling all kind of local food, most of them unidentifiable. One time I stopped by one because the food he was selling looked like corn and I was right. He had 3 items and I got one each to try.

IMG_6982

grilled corn which was so hard that I almost broke my teeth having just one bite

IMG_6983

hard boiled corn with  salt which is very similar to the corn I have at home

IMG_6984

and corn tamale: grounded corn cooked with milk and sugar, usually eaten with dishes

IMG_6986

Obviously I like the boiled corn the most and really happy about finding it because that means I could have my favorite food in the world while traveling to Managua as well. And it was so cheap, 0.25 cent each! The next day, I had 3 for dinner! 🙂

One day I had lunch with my colleagues  in this very trendy cafe

IMG_6992

the decor theme is bamboo

IMG_6990

I had the salad and soup combo

IMG_6993

I did a bit of tourism too this time. We went to a national park Volcan Masaya. Described by the Spaniards as the gates of hell, the craters that comprise Volcán Masaya National Park are the most easily accessible active volcanoes in the country.

IMG_6975

View of the Laguna de Masaya

IMG_6976

Visitors can peek over the edge at the Masaya Volcano, and look into the impressive crater, which is continuously emitting smoke and sulfur gases.

IMG_6980

due to the smoke, we couldn’t see the crater very well.

Flying back: a nice breakfast (potato, sausage and quiche as main dish)

IMG_6995

and a cold salmon salad for lunch

IMG_6999

Traveling to one of the poorest country in Latin America is always a reality check. The country lacks infrastructure and people suffer from hunger. Although the hotel meets with the highest international standard which seems an oasis in the desert, the moment I step out, I see what the country is really about. There is so much to be done. Fortunately I know they’re doing the right things to improve the life of millions, I am part of this process which makes my work so rewarding.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Life: 5 days in Managua

  1. I’m impressed with the airplane food! LOL

    Sounds like a successful….and rewarding trip!

Leave a Reply

