Life: a day in life (weekend edition)


I enjoyed writing and reading life posts. So here’s our Sunday from start to end ๐Ÿ˜‰

5:15am – Sofia “called” me for a feed.

5:25am – back to bed

5:45am – alarm goes off. Time to pump

6:30-7:30am – workout and did 20 min yoga. Someone was up so I “asked” her company.

IMG_5381

8am- whole rye bread twice toasted, mashed avocado and two sunny eggs

IMG_5384

8:15am – feed Sofia again. She didn’t eat much this time but that was expected.

IMG_5387

8:25am- facetime with Star

9am- try to put Sofia for nap while I did veggie preparation for the week

IMG_5396

wash, chop and pack

IMG_5392

9:45am – someone refused to nap

cooked a batch of millet with green lentils

IMG_5397

10am- we gave up with the nap. Time for a snack, baby yogurt

IMG_5402

she seems to like it although she finishes a small container in 3 feedings.

IMG_5411

baby feeding is messy

IMG_5412

since she didn’t want to nap and seemed content playing, I brought her to the studio with me

IMG_5416

me doing computer stuff, she playing

IMG_5417

12pm- she got fussy, I nursed her and she passed out within 10min. I let her sleep in the lounger

IMG_5419

she was up within 10 min but seemed refreshed. Horay for power naps.

12:45pm- lunch. A refreshing salad made with lettuce, tomato and cucumber bought from farmer’s market dressed with olive oil and balsamic, topped with grilled prawn. Corn on the side.

IMG_5420

Produce tastes soooo much better when they’re freshly picked. I need to get some EVERY WEEK!

IMG_5422

1:30am- headed to the national mall for the Cinco de Mayo Festival. Sofia napped 30 min in the carseat

IMG_5424

stopped for a coffee

IMG_5440

Sofia was very focused on Baby Mum Mum

IMG_5435

we give her these rice crackers to practice finger foods. She loves it.

IMG_5428

it was a gorgeous day, a bit windy but nice nonetheless.

IMG_5442

3:30pm- arrived home. She was happy and talkative

IMG_5447

I made a bowl of strawberries, soy yogurt, brown rice crisp and PB2

IMG_5448

love the mess! ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_5449

then fed this girl who when she’s done with eating, she’s done! I hear my friends saying how their babies can be latched/eating ALL day long! Sofia is not like that… she eats when she’s hungry, and that’s eat. she does not snack.

IMG_5452

few moments later… I snacked bowls of cereal and a decaf capuchino, just because ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_5454 IMG_5455

while watching her practicing sitting and playing, I tried to read

IMG_5458

5:40pm – she catnapped after a 5-min nursing session for 30 min when a phone call woke up her. She was not happy about it, at all.

6:10pm – cook dinner and pack lunch for the next day

6:25pm – mom finished dinner and mine was ready too but Sofia started to fuss. So we started the night routine

bathing time.

IMG_5462

always happy to get into the water

IMG_5471

almost 7 kg! ๐Ÿ˜€

IMG_5474

After lotion/massage, feed, a book, I put her down and went to have my dinner. I knew she wouldn’t sleep right away because she was still quite awake.

7:15pm – dinner, brown rice with red quinoa, sauteed red cabbage with oyster mushroom in olive preserve, and kabocha

IMG_5487

7:30pm – finished eating with the crying as background sound, went to the nursery, pick her up and nurse for another 5 min, put her down, walked away hoping she would sleep this time.

7:40pm – still mildly crying. I told my mom, you do whatever you have to do, I can’t take it anymore for the day. Mom went to the room, pick her up, did “i don’t know what”, and she was asleep in 5 min. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

8pm – ย dessert. kabocha + ย aduki mousse

IMG_5488

since I finished the book on Saturday, I did’t have any reading material, so I spent the evening blogging. ๐Ÿ™‚

9pm – pump

9:30pm – in bed

That’s pretty much how life is in weekends. It’s characterized by lack of structure for Sofia, both eating and sleeping. I think she realizes that when I’m at home, I can take her out and play with her, so she finds napping is boring. Glad I go to work on Monday so she can go back to her routine.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Life: a day in life (weekend edition)

  1. Laika

    Love your yoga pic! I am certified yoga teacher and I can vouch for that forward bend, great job!
    What toy is Sofia playing with in her sitting picture? Also, I noticed that mum mum crackers have sugar and salt. Our pedi asked us to not give either to my LO until a year. I assume it’s ok to give based on the quantity and age of the child? Would love to hear your thoughts Coco.

    • balancejoyanddelicias

      Laika, I know that mum mum crackers and puffs are not the most natural thing in the world but since Sofia doesn’t know how to grab pieced food yet, I give her for practice and she’s getting better and better in it. If I can find finger food that she can grab and eat, I’ll switch. We only give her 1 cracker a day for practice so I think it’s okay. It’s not her main source of food. what are you giving as finger food or solid food in general to your LO?

      • Laika

        I have tried giving bananas, steamed broccoli and sweet potato fries so far. He is not that great at picking things yet. Had the most success with broccoli surprisingly. Try it!

  2. She is just ADORABLE!!!!!!!! I love all of your photos. The yogurt on the face is classic. How is the Baby Led Weaning going?? I’d like another post on that! IF you write one I can link it to my blog.

  3. The kid used to eat MumMums! Seems sooo long ago…

    Great photos!

Leave a Reply

