Thoughts: Motherhood III


  • Poop talk all day long! First thing in the morning after I shower/change, I ask my mom, who wakes Sofia up and changes her diaper, “did she poop?”. At work, I exchange email with Sarah and the subject line is always about poop. When I leave work in the evening and call my mom to check how the day went with Sofia, I first ask “did she poop?” Yeah….. motherhood made me focus too much on poop these days. Fortunately after 1 week of constipation after Sofia started eating solid, she had one week of adjustment period, in which she cries when she poops, now she can poop without crying but she makes faces and sounds. It’s the cutest face of pooping! 😉
  • okay. one more poop talk. The first time she pooped after being constipated for a week, my mom called me and said:” Sofia just gave a poop birth, because she cried all the way through the process!” I laughed for 5 min long!!!! Such a comparison.
  • She continues to melt my heart. It’s really magical, no matter how long she’s been with us. Every time I look at her pic, my heart melts away. It’s like falling in love for the first time, my heart feels the crush with her.
  • I’m not ready for her to grow up. The other day I received an email with a interview of a chinese student who got an early admission to MIT. Obviously everyone applauded her achievement. They also interviewed her father and he talked about how he raised/prepared her. I felt really strange reading the interview because I’m supposed to be the parent-to-be, I’m supposed to educate Sofia and prepare her for the future. Asian parents pays a lot of attention to academic success and plans step by step (get into the top high school, summer school, after-school course, piano, apply to top colleges, etc.) in order to lead them to a successful life. I’m not sure that’s the way I want to parent Sofia. My parents didn’t educate me this way and I think I’m extremely happy with my life. However, I wonder if in 10 years I’d change my mind and join the “norm”. But wait…. am I a parent already? Why I don’t feel it this way? I know Sofia has been here for 7 months already, but she’s really just my baby. I don’t have a vision of her being a teenager yet. I don’t want to think about teenager-parenting worries yet. I’m not ready… I want her to be my baby forever!!! I know this is unrealistic; I know time flies and she’ll be a girl who dates in no time. I know I need to be prepared, but I’m not ready, yet!
  • I miss being pregnant. A colleague of mine is pregnant. I see her 5 months belly everyday and that made me miss being pregnant SO MUCH!!! I  enjoyed so much the whole pregnancy and delivery experience last time. I don’t know if the second pregnancy would be as special as the first one, but I really want to experience again the hopeful-state-of-mind of being pregnant. Ideally, I’d stop breastfeeding one Sofia is one year old, and then get pregnant as soon as possible. Finger crossed! 😉
  • I’ve always been interested in nutrition and now I can even talk about nutrition with a male colleague.  Ok, he’s not a random colleague, he actually works in infant nutrition. Today we spent an hour talking about the importance of infant nutrition. How the first 1000 days of the child (included 9 months in the utero) has a permanent effect on child’s weight/height/brain. It makes me love my job even more. I get to know these people and learn so much from them. 🙂
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Thoughts: Motherhood III

  1. Enjoy every step,Coco! Sofia will chose her life passion when she is ready. Sarah will be 14 next month and I’m just about at the point with her where she makes her own decisions and I have to sit back and hope I’ve done a good enough parenting job that she makes the right ones. It’s a scary time!!

  2. Laika

    OMG, I can totally relate to the poop talk. I am always thinking about my LO’s poop too!

    And I am not sure where I stand, but I definitely am not a tiger mom. haha

  3. I think every parent can relate to the poop talk! 🙂

    Enjoy your wonderful baby!

  4. You’re such a good mom, Coco! I really enjoy reading your thoughts about motherhood because you’re so candid and honest. Sophia will grow up fast, but you’re going to grow with her…Each step is of the childhood-rearing journey will be special and unique!

    Have a wonderful weekend! ❤ xoxo

Leave a Reply

