Food: groceries & a new salad obsession


SAturday’s breakfast: the usual banana-egg pancake. This time instead of coconut flour I used almond flour. It’s nice too but I prefer the texture of the one with coconut. It’s more cake-like.

IMG_5198

from Tj’s and WF

IMG_5176

IMG_5177

  • My new beloved soy yogurt
  • mushrooms
  • nut butter
  • organic pear (for Sofia)
  • Suzie’s thin corn cake (obsessed with it)
  • Theo chocolates
  • 2 bunches of organic kale (for my new salad obsession)

IMG_5178

  • organic romaine 
  • banana
  • cherry tomato
  • avocado (a weekly must!)
  • cocoa powder
  • golean cereal
  • organic thousands island dressing (mom’s favorite!)
  • english cucumber
  • Tj’s vainilla almond milk

New products: Baby organic Whole grain oatmeal cereal, for Sofia

IMG_5179

oatmeal is better than rice because rice could be constipating.

Raw sunflower seeds (for a baking project)

IMG_5180

Justin’s honey almond butter. I’ve read so many good things about it that I need to try it.

IMG_5181

Theo chocolates: dark chocolates with toasted coconut (thumb down!), with mint (thumb up!)

IMG_5183

And here’s my new salad obsession: massaged kale salad with tahini-avocado

IMG_5187

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 cups of kale
  • 1 cup chopped cherry tomato
  • 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 serv. firm tofu, scrambled
  • 2 Tbsp tahini
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • salt
  • pinch of cayenne pepper

Method:

1. Prepare the dressing: tahini, lemon juice, maple syrup, salt and cayenne pepper well mixed.

2. Pour the dressing over kale, add chopped avocado, tofu and mix well with hands (or massage it).

3. Add cherry tomato and mushrooms.

4. Let it sit for 30-60 min before serving.

5. Prepare to enjoy a tasty, filling and delicious salad!! 🙂

Q: Do you like kale? What’s your favorite way to eat it? I didn’t like kale first unless it’s in chips form. But lately I’m obsessed with it, it has became my favorite green veggie. The key to eat it raw is to massage it with the dressing and let it sit for a while before serving. It’s soooo delicious and full of nutrients.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Food: groceries & a new salad obsession

  1. I love your grocery haul! I’m a huge fan of the Theo chocolate bar with salted almonds; if you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend that you do! It’s one of my favorites, but Lindt will always hold the #1 spot. 😉

    The kale salad looks delicious! I don’t typically like it raw, but I’m a big fan of kale chips–especially when they’re sprinkled with nutritional yeast or Parmesan. I may have to give your recipe a try, though!

    Happy Monday!

  2. I love kale, and massaged kale salads are great. One of my favorite ones has spicy Korean pepper paste.

    I love Justin’s chocolate almond butter. Haven’t had it in a long time…

  3. That salad looks wonderful! I like to massage kale with a fig balsamic dressing….so good!

Leave a Reply

