Life: exhausted mama


My dad left last Monday so we were back to ladies house! ๐Ÿ™‚

I had a long week which left me exhausted! Sign of exhaustion= falling into sleep around 8:30 pm while reading, wake up an hour later to pump in a semi-asleep mode and back to sleep again. It happened twice last week. Sigh…. tired! By Thursday I was dragging to end the week, so I kept Friday pretty light, worked some and met with people. Networking is so important in where I work, and since I got back to work after the maternity leave I didn’t do much because I didn’t want to “waste” time in lunches and coffees so I could leave the office by 5:30pm. However, catching up with colleagues is important as well, so I plan to do it every other Friday.

Networking was not my thing… I found it awkward to meet with people for no particular reason other than “catching up”. But 1.5 years later, I can totally find an use of it and I’ve became quite good at it too. Meeting new people doesn’t intimate me anymore and I feel very relaxed about it.

Another accomplishment of the week is that I successfully got off a project that I didn’t want to get involved. Not that it was not interesting, but it was just too much work. I have already a pile of work that I hope to do it well, so I really didn’t want more. I think it’s really important to say “NO” sometimes, although in a work environment you have to be specially careful and strategic when you do it.

Moving into the weekend. Saturday:

Last portion of breakfast combo that I made last weekend. Porridge of oatmeal, quinoa, aduki, chinese red dates and chocolate protein powder, and a spoonful of hazelnut spread

IMG_4355

IMG_4353

We went to the mall to return a Jcrew shipment (they were pretty but didn’t fit me) and we got more clothes for Sofia! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4364

we also went to Hmart, Tj’s and WF.

IMG_4365

From Tj’s and WF

IMG_4356

New products this week:

IMG_4357

IMG_4358

IMG_4360 IMG_4361

I really liked the original flavor of these apple chips, so I got the caramel flavor this time. I like it too although couldn’t taste much the caramel flavor

IMG_4362 IMG_4363

Kale chips! It was $3.99 a pack, crazy expensive, but I really wanted to try it. Unfortunately Iย didn’t like it! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It’s crunchy but the taste was just okay, not matching its price tag. I prefer homemade ones more.

Sunday:

An old favorite breakfast combo: chocolate protein cake!!!

IMG_4368

with PB2 sauce

IMG_4369

I craved it for a long time but couldn’t have it because it uses eggs. Last week we went to an allergist to see if we can get Sofia tested for food allergy (eczema is still on and off). She said it’s probably not caused by food (but the dermatologist said it was! :shock:), so she gave us a new skin care routine for Sofia and gave me green light to eat whatever I want! ๐Ÿ˜€ Happy me, finally I can get back to fish and eggs!

However, I think Sofia still reacts to fish because I had salmon on Friday and her cheeks show up red the next day. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ well…. no fish for me. Finger crossed that she doesn’t react to eggs. I can do no fish, but I really crave eggs.

IMG_4366

spent the morning cooking for the week

Dinner for next week: vegetarian paella

IMG_4550

will serve it with quinoa (really hooked with quinoa now!)

lunch salad dressing

IMG_4374

Cheesy-hummus dressing

  • 1 can of chickpeas with the liquid
  • juice of 2 meyer lemon
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 tahini
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp red pepper
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp salt

All blend together and voila:

IMG_4373

Breakfast for the week: porridge made with millet, aduki bean, oatmeal, red dates and sun warrior chocolate protein powder

IMG_4547

serve with some nut butter

Had a chinese lunch

IMG_4390

spicy sauteed cabbage

IMG_4386

sauteed soy bean sprout with chinese pickles

IMG_4387

soup made with seaweed, black fungus, tofu and chinese turnip

IMG_4389

A photo session for Sofia after lunch

IMG_4401

IMG_4419

IMG_4436

look how cute is “her butt”

IMG_4459

handmade sweater by her grandma

IMG_4485

IMG_4488

new toys

IMG_4527

Then I went for a massage and that was theย End of short weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Life: exhausted mama

  1. andreaswellnessnotes

    Hope Sofia’s eczema will get better soon and that it’s not the eggs.

    Sofia is adorable as always. Love the handmade sweater!

    Have a great week!

  2. Ahhhh her butt! LOL, I just want to pat it once~hope that’s not creepy ๐Ÿ˜› And I love her headband, it is so cute on her and it does a good job at keeping her hair down! Asian babies always have that issue :D. I hope this week is off to a great start, Coco.

Leave a Reply

