Life: updates & breakfasts


An update of life happening from last week. Besides that I was busy preparing for the party… we played with Sofia a lot! She’s becoming more fun to play with each day. She smiles to us often, especially to her mom. When I talk to her (in spanish) and make funny faces or talk to her in her “language” she immediately smiles to me. I think I’m her favorite person! πŸ™‚ Her second favorite person is her grandma. She smiles to her every morning after I feed her. And when she plays with her in the lounge, she often smiles as well. She has been more talkative too and that’s soooo cute!!! I love our incomprenhesive conversation time! πŸ™‚

IMG_8431

We’ve been buying new outfits/accesories for her almost everyday! Way too many that she can wear. My mom and I agree to stop for a while.

IMG_8452

IMG_8458

But she’s soooo cute wearing her new thighs and shoes.

IMG_8463

IMG_8467

IMG_8473

IMG_8482

IMG_8483

and her sunglass, the best purchase ever!!!

IMG_8429

However, not everything is pink. She has eczema for few weeks on both sides of her cheek closer to ear. The right side just got worse the last couple of days. We went to ped yesterday and we’re waiting for lab result to see if it’s infected. She doesn’t seem to be bothered. Maybe because she hasn’t developed sensitivity on her skin yet. We’re applying a topical antibiotic oilment until we hear back from the ped. I did a bit of research and it’s not clear what causes it, it could be sensitivity to mother’s diet through breast milk, or it could be heat or lack of humidity. Food that BF mom’s should avoid include dairy, eggs, seafood, fish. Except dairy, I eat all the rest. They’re my only source of protein. If I eliminate all of them, my choice would be limited to chicken and tofu because I don’t like beef and pork. I wouldn’t mind if it doesn’t cause my milk supply to go down. As I mentioned here, I’ve lost more weight recently (below pre-pregnancy weight) so I can’t afford to limit my diet too much. So I think I’ll start eliminating fish and seafood that I consume 3-4 times a week to see if that helps.

Talking about food. I’ve been making different breakfasts for my parents

IMG_8409

this is a soup made with dry longan, eggs and brown sugar. A typical winter soup in China.

IMG_8412

IMG_8416

homemade dumplings: left (vegetarian), right (chinese chives with pork)

IMG_8417

rice flour pancake

IMG_8418

I’ve been having oatmeal, seaweed salad and fried egg for breakfast almost everyday. Savory breakfast is still my favorite!

IMG_8419

glutinous rice filled with black sesame paste

IMG_8436

pan-seared

IMG_8439

glutinous rice balls. A typical breakfast combo in Shanghai, my mom’s favorite

IMG_8489

filling: fritters (fried dough), black sesame paste and meat floss

IMG_8494

Some days I’d have pancakes made with egg whites, kabocha and coconut flour, with PB sauce and fried egg

IMG_8427

chinese radish cake. I made this for Sofia’s party and everyone loves it. Recipe to come soon! πŸ™‚

IMG_8486

Since I’ll be back to work in two weeks, I’m trying to cook as much as I can for my parents, even freeze some and they love them! πŸ™‚

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Life: updates & breakfasts

  1. Aww eczema, no fun. My babe has been getting little patches on his underarms and I thought it was eczema, too. I’m using coconut oil and will talk to his ped next week. I’ve always had ezcema so I’m sure I just passed if down to him.

    Love all the cooking! I loooove seaweed salad, I should Google the recipe and make some at home! & I would love to try all your meals, they sound so unique and loaded with new flavors!

  2. Also, without fish you could be fine on protein if you eat enough vegetables and greens, here’s an awesome website that addresses this!

    http://engine2diet.com/question/can-i-get-enough-protein-eating-a-plant-based-diet/

    πŸ™‚

  3. Just a thought….my kids often developed a rash (or dry skin) on their cheeks when they were teething. Sarah had her first 2 bottom teeth by the time she was 3 months old. Have you noticed if her gums are getting white or hard?

    Look at all that delicious food! I’m so jealous over here, Coco!

    • balancejoyanddelicias

      Sarah had teeth at 3 months? I didn’t think that was possible. I will check Sofis’s gum then. Thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚

  4. awww so cute! And there’s so much delish food in this post,omgness. And I hope Sofia gets better very soon Coco. Also, thank you so so much for sharing that about breastfeeding moms! Any little bit of info like that helps sooo much. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

