Life: first day away from Sofia


Yesterday I was out of the house from 7:30 am to 6:30 pm. I’m attending a two-days retreat at work. I am not required to attend but since I’m new to the division it’s a good opportunity to meet everyone else and participate in the group event. I also wanted to see how it feels like going back to work (leaving Sofia at home with mom) and mentally prepare for it when maternity leave ends (still 1.5 months to go).

Well, how did it go? Not too bad. The first day at the retreat was fun and meeting everyone was nice. They were not expecting me so I was a big surprise for them. They congratulated me about the baby and how fast I’m recovered.

The first activity of the day was a team game. Each team had a GPS and sites to go to find the clue and answer the question.

IMG_3015

it was nice walking around DC in a warm winter day with 4 other team members. We got to take some funny pics! πŸ™‚

The rest of the day was spent in a hotel training about Emotional Intelligence, How to deal with change and Innovation.

I requested a place to do the pumping and the hotel was nice to give me and another coworker, who has a 4 months baby, a room to do the “work” πŸ™‚

IMG_3018

IMG_3024

I brought an insulated bag with a ice pack inside

IMG_3025

I pumped 3 times during the day at time that Sofia usually eats. 2 of the 3 I chat through it with my coworker who has been helping out all these two months by answering my baby-related questions. πŸ™‚ It’s sooooo nice to have other coworkers in the office who has young babies too. I’m lucky to have 3 other moms in my office and few new fathers too.

IMG_3021

There was a cocktail party after the last session but I skipped that. I was starting to miss Sofia a lot. If I didn’t get home before her last feeding, I wouldn’t see her for an entire day and that was too much for a first day. When I was waiting for my car, I looked these pics that I took the day before.

IMG_2975

IMG_2981

IMG_2990

IMG_2998

IMG_3013

All the emotions that I had accumulated during the day came fiercely. I almost broke into tears in public. I missed her soooo much!!!

When I arrived home, I gave her thousands of kisses!!! My little baby girl… she’s sooo precious.

My mom told me that she had a good day, napped at regular time and length so I was relieved.

It wasn’t too bad for a first day. I think I can deal with it for when I go back to work. I just need to figure out logistically how to do it so I can spend some time with her everyday. I might have to go on mission as soon as I go back to work, it won’t be a long trip, maybe 3-4 days… but that’s 3-4 days of not seeing her at all. That I’m sure would be harder. We will see.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Life: first day away from Sofia

  1. awww I’m sure that is so tough! I don’t know how I would feel on days when I have to leave him/her away from me, but I bet it would be super sad, so great job to you AND Sofia for being a good girl….hehe. πŸ˜€

  2. Wow girl, you’re brave! I’m nervous for the first full day, but also gonna try just one day next week while my mom watches the babe.

    I love your pump! I need to get one of those bra things, my hands are always tied to holding onto the bottles as I pump and I can’t do anything.

    Sofia is so beautiful! She’s growing up fast πŸ™‚

  3. Ummm is that what a pumping bra thing looks like!??! lol I’d never seen one – momyhood is a whole new world! πŸ™‚

  4. What a PRECIOUSLY cute baby!!

Leave a Reply

