Journal: I’m surprised that…


I’m surprised that Sofia took two 2.5 hrs naps in the morning, two naps in the afternoon (1 and half hour) and still managed to sleep 11 hrs at night (6, 3 and 2)!!! Second time of 6 hrs stretch sleep! hope this is the start of a new trend.
I’m surprised that my dad decided to come to visit us a month earlier than planned. This means he will be here for my birthday, new year and Sofia’s 100 days celebration! πŸ˜€

I’m surprised that I didn’t like any of the clothes I ordered online. They were $1500 worth of clothes with great reviews and none of them spoke to me.
I’m surprised that I’m not pissed of by not-so-small things anything like a broken iPhone

IMG_8181

it’s the second iPhone that I dropped and got it scratched.

I’m surprised that I was not pissed off yesterday by a car that wouldn’t start and a wrong AAA technician diagnosis. Yesterday we were planning to go to the mall. Everything was prepared and then the car wouldn’t start! 😦 Apparently the battery was dead because I left the backdoor opened one night. I called AAA, it turned out that my yearly quota has reached its limit, so I had to pay this time. Alright, no problem. The guy came and tested the battery and his diagnosis was dead cell, meaning the battery had to be replaced. I went to the car dealer requesting battery replacement, it turned out that the battery was not dead, it just needed to be recharged. Alright, two hours wasted. But the point of this story is that I was not pissed off AT ALL! And I’m so surprised by my reaction. Many few months or years ago, I’d be really pissed off if something like this happens because I hate when unexpected things happens for wrong reasons. But this time, maybe I’m in such a happy-mode that these things wouldn’t shake my happy world! πŸ˜€

I’m surprised that Sofia found her hands!!!! And she starts to put them in her mouth.. sooooo cute!!!

IMG_2931

IMG_2933

*********

Other than the car “incident” we had another great day. Morning walk with a sleepy baby

IMG_8172

IMG_8173

peaceful lunch

IMG_8165

leftover butternut squash and turkey pastel

IMG_8167

winter melon, black fungus, tomato and bamboo soup

IMG_8168

coffee ice cream as dessert

not a big ice cream fan but we have two cans of ice cream from my baby shower that need to be consumed. So I’m helping out! πŸ™‚

Afternoon snack

IMG_8174

gigantic pomelo

I ate 2/3 of this and looked like 6 months pregnant! πŸ˜‰

A short workout followed by a simple dinner

IMG_8177

IMG_8178

bok choy tofu soup in miso-korean-paste mix

Night snack after I put S to sleep


IMG_8179

white fungus soup

IMG_8180

steamed corn (x2)

Q: Have you ever been surprised by your own reaction?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Journal: I’m surprised that…

  1. Ann

    Hi Coco πŸ™‚ I am not a regular commenter, but I am a regular reader. I love your outlook on life–not just regarding health and nutrition but also your family and your job. I just wanted to say that I really, really appreciate your posts about your baby. I am not having a baby anytime soon, but my partner and I plan to in the future. You have eased a lot of my fears and provide great insight into the experience for someone like me. I thank you for sharing and appreciate your suggestions for books, materials, etc! It will definitely help me in the future.

  2. Aww Sofia looks so cute with her hand in get mouth! It was such a fun day when my babe started doing that. All I’m waiting for now us when that start grabbing stuff -isn’t it going to be crazy?

    I’m surprised that I miss my parents so much being here in Mexico with my hubby’s family. I had no idea it would be this hard.

    Hope you continue to have a great weekend!

  3. heheeh she’s so adorable, man! I love her super Asian standing-up hair, lol. πŸ˜€ It seems like she’s doing so well and developing fairly quickly huh?!

    I also have a question for ya! I’ve been looooooving corn esp. these days since they’re like, ultra sweet and fresh. When you ate it during pregnancy (since corn is one of the most staple foods in your diet), were you able to handle it or did it bother you at times? I’m not sure if you had digestive problems during pregnancy though. I would like to eat more of it but I’m kinda scared it’s going to mess with my stomach! πŸ˜› Any thoughts Coco?

    • balancejoyanddelicias

      Hi Ellie, I love corns and eat tons of eat now but while I was pregnant I didn’t eat any. It was not because it would cause any digestive problem, simply because I didn’t want any. The same happened with Kabocha. My taste buds changed and couldn’t eat any of both of my favorite food. I didn’t have any digestive issues while pregnant. Maybe occasional constipation and bloating, but it was not too bad. Hope this helps. I think you can try to eat and listen to your body. If it tolerates well, then go ahead. But it is true that corns are harder to digest than to say rice.

  4. Wow, Sofia is a super sleeper! I’ll pray that the pattern continues! πŸ˜‰ These photos are adorable too; it’s exciting that she’s found her hands. I bet she’ll be crawling soon, too!

    Your meals always look so fresh and delicious. How do you make your bok choy tofu soup? It looks like something I’d really enjoy. πŸ™‚

    I hope you had a lovely weekend, Coco! ❀

Leave a Reply

