Journal: I want a big and close-tied family


Yesterday during our morning walk my mom and I talked about our relatives and the relationship or lack of it among them. Both my parents come from a big family, they each have 6 brother and sisters. They are close to just one of them and on rare occasions talk to the others now that both grandparents passed away. It’s not just my parents that don’t relate much with others bro/sis, but among them they talk to each other even less. It made me wonder how is it possible that family members behave like strangers? If I had a brother or sister, I can only imagine seeing and talking to him/her very often and do whatever is possible to be in her or his big days like weddings. This doesn’t happen in our big family and it’s not unusual nowadays in China. It’s unfortunate and I still can’t figure why. I thought if you spend 18 years or more with someone in the same house, share all the memories together, you will be tied to this person for the rest of your life since you shared so much. On the other side, you can’t choose who you want to be your brother and sisters as with friends. So maybe once you live apart, you choose not be friend with them? I don’t have any so I don’t know, but as parent, I can’t imagine my children not behave as brother and sisters when they’re grown up. If that happens, will that means I failed as parent? I want to have 1 or 2 more kids, I want a big family, I want to celebrate holidays with them together EVERY YEAR, and I’d like them to be family if I’m not here. Is that too much to ask? What makes children to love their siblings? How to teach children family traditions?

Sofia woke up or stirred up at 5 AM, like she always do nowadays even her last feeding was just an hour ago. She wouldn’t calm down with the pacifier, so I offer her breast, she’d eat for 5-10 min and goes back to sleep for another 1-3 hrs. I wonder why she always wake up at that time. By 8 AM yesterday she was still asleep.

IMG_2755

look her crazy hair!!! She looks effortlessly like a rock star, isn’t she?

To switching up a bit, I made oatmeal (1/2 c. oats, 1/2 c. almond milk, 1/2 c. frozen blueberries, 2 egg whites) with almond butter

IMG_2756

Adding the egg whites made it hold me through the 5 miles walk. When we came back, I had some acorn squash

IMG_2760

while Sofia was playing in the bouncer. Again, she slept the whole 1.5 hrs walk. I think she’s getting used to be placed in the carseat, covered up, white noise on and move into the sleep state as soon as we start walking.

IMG_2762

I made lunch

IMG_2768

squid, celery and black fungus sautéed

IMG_2764

sautéed onions with beef strips

IMG_2765

sauteed bok choy with garlic and dry chili

IMG_2766

both mom and I enjoyed the meal. 🙂 Need to do a bit more elaborated meals more often. 😉

Afternoon naps for all the family followed by a workout and dinner time. Mom had leftovers and I made a quick asian stew using korean spicy paste and miso

IMG_2769

1/2 tbsp of each added to the sautéed bok choy, eggplant and spaghetti squash plus 1 cup of water.

IMG_2770

It was incredibly tasty, next time I’ll add more of the spicy paste, so good! 🙂

S slept 10 hrs (4, 2.5, 1,5, 2), I slept 8 and woke up with two hard balls in from of me that were leaking :(. If it was not because of them, I could easily sleep for more. Breastfeeding is hard work!!! Not only your nipples are sore for being sucked hours per day, your arms and shoulders sore for holding the baby, you’re also sleep deprived even if you don’t have to nurse at night because you need to pump that milk out!!! Well… I’m not complaining here, just putting the facts. I still enjoy a lot the whole breastfeeding thing.

Everyone is busy with thanksgiving organization or flying back to meet with the families. We’re not celebrating here but we have plans: a mini celebration with our friend Sarah and her mom, a birthday party, invite some friends over for lunch, and a lunch with friends on Sunday, so I’m also looking forward to this long weekend! 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Journal: I want a big and close-tied family

  1. Look at all this tasty food! YUM! I bet Sofia’s will look SO cute with some barrettes in her hair when she’s a bit older. 🙂

  2. I know that you and your family are not celebrating the holiday in a big way but I still wanted to stop by and wish you and yours a Happy Thanksgiving! ❤

  3. Hi Coco, what us the name of the baby app you mentioned awhile back? I am trying to find an app that charts sleep times by the hour per day. Dies or app do that? Thanks in advance!

    • balancejoyanddelicias

      Hi Linda, it’s called baby connect. It tracks all baby related stuff, eating,sleeping, diaper, weight, doc visit, etc. it’s great!

Leave a Reply

