Journal: dressing up & stepping out


We had a fabulous day! We went to Georgetown and the weather was spring like, sunny and warm. Being at home all the time with a baby, Pj is all I wear, and even if I change, it’s to another Pj because I got pee/poop/milk spit. Obviously I don’t wear makeup at home either, sometimes I don’t even wash my face or brush hair, not that I’m lazy, I simply forget. So when I have an opportunity to get out of the house other than do groceries, I really enjoy dressing up a bit, put a touch of makeup and feel that I’m a woman girl (I wan’t to be the little girl forever! ;)) other than a mom.

The morning started bright looking at this little person that is our sunshine

IMG_2513

Look at her serious face.. i wonder what was in her mind

IMG_2514

while she thought about important matters, we had breakfast. I made a pumpkin oatmeal (1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup pumpkin, cinnamon) with this almond butter

IMG_2511

Loving oatmeal again!!!

Sofia took few short naps in the morning while I workout in the basement. Then I prepared lunch for mom, a sweet sour pork ribs

IMG_2517

sadly it was a bit burned because S was screaming so I had to run

I had leftover high protein mushroom Stroganoff with squash, corn and baked salmon

IMG_2518

soy sauce, ginger, brown sugar and black pepper

IMG_2519

And we went to Georgetown. Outfit of the day

IMG_2525

Sofia ready to take her long afternoon nap

IMG_2521

I had the facial at Hela, which felt AMAZING, love love this place. Mom walked along the harbor with Sofia.

IMG_2543

what a lovely day, isn’t it?

IMG_2538

We also stopped by Baked & Wired

IMG_2544

I heard this place for its famous cakecups. Although there was a bit of wait, we decided to give it a shot. Mom and I shared a pumpkin spice (A pumpkin cake topped with a pumpkin spiced cream cheese frosting)

IMG_2545

the icing was wayyyy too sweet but the cake was really good, perfect moisture, intense pumpkin flavor and nice dense texture.

Before going home, we also stopped by Sarah’s new house. We chat a bit about upcoming new baby (she’s 38 weeks) and what would she be facing soon. Sofia slept the WHOLE afternoon, from 1:30 pm to 5:30pm without any interruption, not even to eat. I tried to feed her a bit at Sarah’s house to not miss a feeding, but she only ate for 5 min and went back to sleep. When she woke up, it was about 6pm, fussy time! So we went back home.

Dinner was more leftovers so I didn’t take a pic. After the night rituals, Sofia was asleep by 8pm. Once again, despite the long afternoon nap, she slept well (3, 3.5, 3 hrs), so did I (8 hrs). šŸ™‚

I think mom, Sofia and I need to go on “date” more often. We had a lot of fun spending the afternoon outside and feel the crowd around us. Maybe we should do it every weekend? I really want to do brunch too, but afraid of being in a restaurant with Sofia yet. She’s so young! Maybe we try it next weekend. šŸ™‚

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Journal: dressing up & stepping out

  1. Sounds like a fantastic day! I bet the fresh air did you all well! šŸ™‚

  2. ahhhh I feel a sense of relief for you girls for being outside and being freeeee! šŸ˜€ That’s exactly the one thing that makes me nervous about having a baby! I wonder how hard or loud it will be if we take our infants/toddlers into a restaurant, because I’ve seen how my nephew can be sometimes! šŸ˜› but then he’s just always been hyperactive, like an energizer bunny. I think that’s why he never gains any weight.

  3. You look fabulous and I love the boots! Happy to hear S is sleeping more.
    My little one had a fever and UTI, and we had to stay in the hospital for 4 days for the initial treatment. Now that he’s recovering on antibiotics at home, I’m hoping to get him back onto a sleep schedule.

    Were you able to find a mother’s group in your area? I go to the free ones offered by local hospitals and I’m looking into going to Loas Madres playgroups while I still have a few more weeks on maternity leave.

    • balancejoyanddelicias

      Linda, yes, I went to a LLL meeting and it was fun. I still need to find a mommy group. Hope things are going well with you and your boy!

  4. You look fantastic!!! lol When I see mom’s out that look like you, I think they make it look easy and I could see myself having a baby. But then I see the one’s that look run down and I think babies are a scary proposition!

Leave a Reply

