Journal: milk splash


Yesterday two mini milk “incident” happened. First, after I took a hot shower, I almost had to take it again because milk just kept dropping all over me. I run into Sofia ask for “help” but she was not interested. 😦 The other time was when I was nursing her, a sleepy and lazy baby decided to take a break, when my nipple fell out, the milk kept coming out, not dropping this time but splashing right into her face. She was not bothered but looked very funny. I don’t know what’s going on with my milk production. I even had to pump once after feeding because I was feeling very full and my left breast even a bit engorged.

Ok. enough milk talk. lets see what we did yesterday. After Sofia had breakfast she decided she wanted to play a bit with mama instead of sleep.

IMG_2462

IMG_2465

IMG_2469

IMG_2470

And then she accompanied us for breakfast. I had a wrap using flatout, egg white omelette with caramelized onions.

IMG_2477

IMG_2478

S didn’t take a nap until mid morning, grandma was playing with her while I did some reading

IMG_2479

my reading speed has decreased tremendously despite being at home everyday. I enjoy reading so much that I will ask my mom one hour a day just to read.

this book is about how kids/teenagers of affluent families are actually less happier, more prone to drug and wrong self awareness. We are far from being a millionaire but compared to my own childhood when fruits were luxury, we are much better. So it intrigued me why these kids are in trouble when I’m sure their parents love them as much as every other parent. Most importantly,which mistakes to avoid when both parents have a career therefore might not devote 100% of their energy and time to their kids. I’m halfway through the book and it’s kind enlightling.

For lunch I craved the high protein mushroom Stroganoff with spaghetti squash, so I went to TJ for the ingredients. Other fun findings included mini pita bread, perfect for snacks (I was browsing the shelves for snack options. although TJ’s has a big variety, I couldn’t find anything savory good enough to try. any suggestion?)

IMG_2480

and a tube of tomato paste

IMG_2483

so much more convenient than canned.

Lunch

IMG_2484

Add frozen okra this time. YUM YUM~

IMG_2485

Morning nap was not so good so Sofia decided to make up in the afternoon. She slept from 1:30 to 4:30, even at 4:30 I had to wake her up to feed her before I workout. Both mom and I took an hour nap too. And then after eating, she went back to sleep again until I finished my workout (5:45), that’s another hour.

IMG_2487

While I cooked dinner, S was either catnapping or fussing. it was funny that one minute she’s peacefully sleeping, the next she starts crying.

Mom’s dinner.

IMG_2489

sautéed cauliflower, carrot and port with General Tsao sauce

IMG_2490

Mine: sautéed lettuce, kabocha, corn and stir fry of chicken sausage, turkey breast, zucchini and onion, seasoned with tamari and Goya saffron seasoning.

IMG_2488

IMG_2492

The night ended with a long nursing session (40 min) because S was still sleepy despite all the naps she took in the afternoon. Fortunately it didn’t affect much her night sleep (3.5, 3, 2.5, 1.5 hrs).

Weekend plan: today we are going to visit my friend Sarah who moved to our neighbor last week. Tomorrow we are going to Georgetown, hopefully it’s not too cold to walk outside. I haven’t learned how to dress a baby for the winter.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Journal: milk splash

  1. Sounds like you have a fun weekend ahead!

  2. Her smiles are so beautiful!

    She sure did have a long nap, I bet she felt so great afterward! I think for dressing baby’s for the winter, you can’t go wrong with simply dressing them like you would yourself: coat or sweater, mittens, hat, socks, long pants or sweats, then wrap a blanket over them if you’re stroller walking. That’s my plan for this morning and it’s 32*F here in Seattle! We’ll see how it goes!

  3. Sofia is just adorable! Belated congratulations!
    How old is she? I have a similar issue to you and have an oversupply and a very strong letdown. I found things evened out a little bit around week 12, but I still get a little engorged every now and then and very frequently leak. I was told by my lactation consultant to manually express if I need to, but that pumping will only increase the demand on my supply.
    Again, congrats! What a sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

