Journal: a WONDERFUL morning


Before I recap yesterday, I NEED to tell you what happened this morning. I was sitting on the couch in the nursery reading something while Sofia was sleeping. It was 6:45 am and the sky was getting brighter. I took a look at the crib and Sofia had her eyes wide open!!! And she wasn’t making any noise!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ So I approached to her and said good morning. She Smiled back!!!!! woooo!!!!!!!!!!! She smiled at me!!!! She woke up WITHOUT CRYING AND SMILED TO ME!!!! This is something glorious!!!!!!! And then I was super excited, so I talked to her more, smiled to her, and she smiled back again and again!!! I was ALL OVER THE TOP!!!!!

What a WONDERFUL way to start the day!!!! ๐Ÿ˜†

Oh.. one more thing. I got almost 10 oz. this morning (4 am. last feeding was 7pm the night before)! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

IMG_2415

My supply has definitely increased. Before every morning I’d get 3 oz., sometimes 4-5, but for the last couple of days, I’d get anywhere from 6-8 and today 10!!! Wooo!!! Am I preparing for the 6 weeks growth spurt? Isn’t it the case the your supply goes up when baby is going through a growth spurt but not the reverse? anywayโ€ฆ I’m glad supply isn’t an issue for us! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Okay. Back to yesterday, which I also started with great mood. I had plans to do some baking, but that didn’t happen. Time just flies when you have a baby. After breakfast

IMG_2400

I blogged and took care of some house keeping business while S took her naps (her morning naps are getting more consistent these days. Sometimes 1 or 2 naps of an hour, sometimes few of 30-45 min ones. YEY!) It was almost noon already. Then I nursed her

IMG_2401

kisses her thousands of times

IMG_2402

and lunch time: leftover turkey spinach frittata and Brussels sprouts tofu sautee, and a corn

IMG_2405

Afternoon naps are harder to get. She wouldn’t sleep longer than 20 min although she’s tired and wants to sleep. Yesterday I tried something new to get some sleep when the baby didn’t want to sleep. I nursed her on the bed while I took a nap. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Yes.. you wonder how? I lied on one side, lied S on the opposite side, positioned her into my right breast, obviously she’d suck (no matter if she is hungry or not). And then I just napped. Maybe it was just 30 min, but I felt great!!! S didn’t nursed all that time, she’d suck few times, sleep a bit, suck again, sleep, repeat. And then my mom came to wake me up because there was something at the door to deliver a package that needed my signature. Look what a beautiful surprise I got

IMG_2408

A coworker sent us an eatable arrangement in such a cute vase!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Nurse, workout happened next. And then the fuss time begins. Apparently Sofia fuss the most around 5:30-6:30pm, just when we’re about to have dinner. We used to carry her around to calm her down, yesterday we decided to let her fuss. I was sure she wasn’t uncomfortable nor hungry, so the fuss was just fuss.

Although dinner is not so enjoyable with a fuss babyโ€ฆ we managed to eat it with the background noise

IMG_2409

A sautee napa cabbage with black fungus and dry shrimp

IMG_2410

1/3 baked acorn squash + corn

IMG_2411

Fussy S calmed down when I undressed her preparing to take the bath, which I think has became her favorite activity! No matter how much she’s been crying, whenever we bath her, she’s happy! ๐Ÿ™‚

Night routine followed by a long nursing session (I’ve been trying to feed her less in the afternoon so she gets a full meal at dinner), hold her up for 15 min, wrap her in the new miracle blanket, turn on the white noise, even sing a lullaby to her which magically closed her eyes within 2 min. Put her down at 8pm and she slept until 10:45pm (with a minor interruption once at 9). Then my mom feed her at 11 and she went back to sleep until 3am. I gave her a snack around 5am after fussing for 5 min, and she slept until 6:45 this morning. I’m sure it’s the good night sleep that made her a happy baby in the morning!

I’m feeling more confident as a mom each day. I don’t stress out about S not sleeping at night when she doesn’t get good naps. I can “read’ her cries better. I know how to comfort her when she’s fussy. I feel I’m getting to know better and better what she needs. It really takes 6 weeks… it’s magical that after this period, things begin to make sense. So happy to be where I am now and I’m sure my confidence will build up even more as we spend more time together. And we will have more interaction with S other than crying for food/poop/sleep. YEY!!! The best is yet to come! :)

Plan for the day: 6 weeks postpartum appointment and meet with few coworkers.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Journal: a WONDERFUL morning

  1. What a good start to the day indeed! Baby smiles are the best, aren’t they???

  2. That is so true about feeling more confident around 6 weeks. I feel like I can understand and communicate with my baby so much better now. It is amazing!!!

  3. It’s so exciting to hear the tidbits of victories and successes! ๐Ÿ˜€ I feel like I’m learning so much just from reading about your experience with Sophia~And btw! I basically don’t like breakfast very much these days, but I had the protein cake 2 times and it’s the only thing that I REALLY love! It sits well with my tummy too. And when you were pregnant, did you run or do circuit training at all?

    • balancejoyanddelicias

      Glad the protein cake sits well on your tummy. My workout consisted mainly in incline walking and ET and some light upper and lower body workouts.

  4. Jessica

    Glad you had a great morning! I love that napa cabbage combo. It makes me even more excited for Thanksgiving (Asian American style hehe)!

Leave a Reply

