Journal: first smiles!!!! :D


The highlight of the day was that Sofia smiled to us for the FIRST TIME! We believe that those are intentional smiles instead of those that she does after eating, half asleep. It happened after a long nap in the morning and a poop explosion. As we were changing her, she was contented and suddenly smiled to us! We were not sure what we saw was real… but 1 min later she did it again and then we were sure our little girl is starting to SMILE!!! šŸ˜† She’s even more beautiful and cute when she smiles… I hope I can catch one of her smiles to show you all! šŸ™‚

After getting up around 5am, I couldn’t sleep, so I made honey sandwich bread! šŸ™‚

IMG_2310

Honey Sandwich Bread (1 big loaf)

  • 2 tsp yeast
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup of warm water
  • 2 cup bread flour
  • 1 cup WW flour
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • pinch of salt

1. Mix yeast with 2 tbsp of honey and the water. Let it sit for 10 min until the foam is formed.

2. Add 1 to the bread maker with the rest of the ingredients.

3. Choose dough cycle.

4. Let it rise again in the pan until double its size.

5. Bake at 375F for 30-35 min.

6. Cool before slices it.

Sofia took one 1 hr and one 2.5 hrs nap in the morning. She was definitely well rested. šŸ™‚

IMG_2313

my friend Qiao came to visit us and we had lunch together. We had empanadas

IMG_2311

with soup. I had chicken bok choy and black fungus soup

IMG_2312

It took me 3 hrs to put her into sleep. I guess she wanted to play with mama a bit! šŸ™‚

IMG_2305

While she nap for an hour, I walked on the treadmill and watched TV. I really enjoy this “ME” time everyday… it makes me miss my girl even more!

While we had dinner… S sit on the bouncer.

IMG_2319

I prepared dinner for both of us. Mom had bok choy, shrimp with tofu and rice

IMG_2314

I had miso soup, sauteed lettuce and kabocha

IMG_2315

IMG_2316

IMG_2318

You can imagine that I had a corn afterward.

By the end of our dinner, S started to scream for food (she hadn’t eaten for 3.5 hrs :evil:). But she needed to be bathed first… so poor little had to wait a bit longer. Fortunately she never refuses a bath, so that was not hard. šŸ™‚ After that, I nursed her and put her into bed around 8pm. Mom let me go to sleep so I went to the basement around 9pm. I was hoping Sofia could have a good night sleep, maybe another 4 hrs stretch? Well…. that didn’t happen. She was awake from 9-12! šŸ˜Æ I don’t know what’s going on, for two nights, she has been awaken for 2-3 hrs around midnight. I cut off caffeine completely, she doesn’t have gas, although she’s awake, she doesn’t fuss much. The only thing is she wouldn’t sleep. I’m puzzled again! šŸ˜¦ Hopefully it’s just temporarily.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Journal: first smiles!!!! :D

  1. Jessica

    Hi! I just came across your blog and I’m happy that I did.
    Sofia looks so precious and your foods look amazing (it makes me miss home!).

  2. Hmmm I wish I could give you tips on nighttime sleep! I heard that you should be very “boring” to them at night – no eye contact or talking to them so they know it’s bed time. And lots of darkness, no lights on.

    Loveeeee miso soup! Want to make some t
    Right now, just need to buy tofu n’ miso!

    And yay for first smiles! I didn’t believe it either when it happened for the first time – it’s so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

