Sofia: 24 hrs at 2.5 weeks


As a new mom, I like reading other blogs daily routine of their life with a newborn to learn if our “schedule” is too off the track. I’m sure our days will evolve a lot in the coming weeks, so it’s useful to write down how our life is right now.

Star and my in-laws went to DC yesterday, so it was just my mom, Sofia and I at home. In 10 days, when Star and his folks leave, it will be like that for a long while.

7:00- finished nursing Sofia

7:00-7:45: we both took a nap

7:45- 8:00: diaper change and washed her bottom because she made a mountain of poop. For two days in a row, she doesn’t make poop at night and a good amount first thing in the morning, just like an adult. 🙂

8:00-8:20: I had my breakfast. OIAJ (1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup apple sauce, 1 egg in an almost empty jar of almond butter)

IMG_1913.JPG

8:20- Sofia ate

8:40- burping (no burp again), hold her up right for 10 min, put her in bed, she didn’t fall into sleep yet but looked sleepy.

8:50-9:10: I pumped (1.5 oz from one side). plan to introduce bottles at 3 weeks.

9:10- Sofia fell into sleep, I checked mails, wrote checks

IMG_1884.JPG

and continued with reading

IMG_1886.JPG

10:10- She woke up crying nonstop. She seemed to be hungry.

10:20- Nursing time following by burping and diaper change

IMG_1889.JPG

IMG_1890.JPG

Mom hold her a bit longer while I made chocolate cookies

IMG_1891.JPG

Almond butter chocolate chips cookies

  • 2/3 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 egg
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt

Bake at 350F for 20-25 min. Cool for 10 min before taking out.

11:15- I heard the screaming upstairs, I went up, she had her eyes closed. She needed another nap. I put her in the swing while I continued with reading and mom prepared lunch. She passed out at 11:30.

IMG_1892.JPG

12:00- Sofia woke up screaming again for food. So I fed her, changed diaper and burped her.

love her post feeding face, just like a drug-addict having the daily doses. (i know it’s a bad comparison, but I can’t describe it in a better/correct way)

IMG_1893.JPG

12:45- Lunch time for me while mom hold her upright.

IMG_1894.JPG

winter melon, shiitake, black mushroom and kelp soup. All these are great for milk production

IMG_1895.JPG

sauteed greens and a steamed corn as usual.

IMG_1896.JPG

13:15- Sofia was still awake, she has been entertaining herself in the crib for 30 min.

IMG_1897.JPG

now she started to fuzz a bit. I pat her for 30 sec and put white noise. She fell into sleep.

14:00- She woke up crying. time to eat? I got prepared

IMG_1899.JPG

but it was kind of early to eat again. So I put her in the swing but she kept crying. Mom took her and hold her up, she stopped crying. Few minutes later, she cried again. I took her and sit on the gym ball and started bouncing. She likes it, stopped crying and got sleepy.

14:30- time to eat. She ate for 12 min and passed out I waited for 15 min until she woke up again and fed her another 7 min.

IMG_1903.JPG

15:00- We both took a nap.

16:20- I woke up feeling rested. Sofia was still sleeping in the swing (mom transferred her to there because she got fuzzy). I snacked another corn.

16:40- Sofia woke up.

17:00- nursing with a cover because a friend came to visit us.

18:00- bath time. We’ve been sponge bathing her every other day, and she likes it most of the time.

IMG_1904.JPG

We tried the new sweater that my mom made for Sofia. It’s a bit big now, but she will grow to fit in it soon. 🙂

IMG_1912.JPG

18:20- I put Baby Einstein (Pandora), sit on the gym ball, she liked it

IMG_1905.JPG

IMG_1907.JPG

18:40- Nursing, burping.

19:10- dinner for me

IMG_1909.JPG

lunch leftovers + a seaweed egg soup + kabocha

IMG_1910.JPG

19:20 – Sofia fell into sleep. I wanted to wake her up at 8:20 for a last feeding before I go to sleep, but she was too sleepy.

20:30- I went to bed.

21:20- Sofia woke up and I fed her. Star changed diaper in between feeding.

21:50- Star took her to the nursery where Star sleeps too. I went back to sleep in the master bedroom.

23:40- Sofia woke up and wanted to eat. I fed her, Star changed her diaper and took her back to the nursery.

00:20- I went back to sleep and hoped that the next stretch would be longer.

3:00- I woke up thinking that I was nursing Sofia, but the room was dark and sign of Sofia in the room. oh….. she hasn’t came yet? Great! I went back to sleep.

3:20- Star showed up with Sofia. Good girl, 3 hours of sleep for all the family! 😆 I fed her, Star changed diaper.

4:00- Star took her back to the nursery and I went back to sleep.

6:20- Sofia woke up, time to eat again. I fed her, changed diaper and this time she stayed with me so Star can get another 3 hrs of sleep alone.

6:50- I swaddled her and put her in bed. I got my bowl of fiberone and read blogs (my morning routine)

7:20- Sofia was making noises, I checked her, her eyes were wide open and was having hiccups. She seemed sleepy so I let her alone. I turned the light off and lied down as well.

So that was our 24 hrs with a newborn at 2.5 weeks. It was a good day because she took several naps during the day and didn’t fuzz much.

Stats using baby connect

Sleep

Total: 13 hrs 13 min

Count: 9

Longest: 2 hrs 21 min

Interval: 3 hrs

Nursing

Total: 3 hrs 15 min

Count: 11

Average: 17 min

Interval: 2 hrs 16 min

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sofia: 24 hrs at 2.5 weeks

  1. oh my gosh, that picture of her in the big red sweater is just SO CUTE!
    🙂

  2. I absolutely LOVE the photo of her in her crib. So precious! She sounds like such a content baby….eat, sleep, look around….:)

  3. Jun

    Oh my gosh, she looks so sweet! No surprise if you feel attached to her.

    Though I wonder when I browse across your lunch/dinner pictures, do you consume everything pictured or you share the dishes with others (your mum etc)?

    • balancejoyanddelicias

      Thanks Jun. Yes, most of the time I finish all what my mom prepares for me, she eats with the rest of the family.

Leave a Reply

