Food: Big spread of chinese food everyday!


Now that we’re 5 at home, each meals seems a big meal with at least 4-5 dishes. That’s the tradition in chinese family, usually at least 1 dish per people. I don’t eat all of them, so I ask my mom to have at least two dishes that I like! 🙂 Being pregnant has many privileges! 😉

For a couple of days I had sweet oatmeal for breakfast, an old friend that I haven’t visited for a long time!

IMG_8067

this one has 1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water, pinch of salt, 1/2 medium banana, 1 tsp chia seed, vanilla, topped with peach and big spoon of almond butter.

IMG_8068

YUM YUM~~~ 🙂

Now into our daily meals

IMG_8062

spicy red sauce fish (made by me because Star likes mine the most!)

IMG_8055

sauteed bok choy (a staple)

IMG_8056

steamed edamame

IMG_8057

cucumber sautéed with shrimp

IMG_8058

winter melon with tomato, bamboo and black fungus soup (one of my recent fav dishes)

IMG_8059

chinese spinach, black fungus and silken tofu soup, another of my favorites

IMG_8060

I had oatmeal cooked with yam

IMG_8061

IMG_8066

sauteed celery with calamari

IMG_8063

red sauced pork (Star’s fav)

IMG_8064

sautéed chinese greens

IMG_8065

IMG_8078

sauteed napa cabbage with dry shrimp

IMG_8072

steamed pork ribs with rice flour-spice mix

IMG_8073

wakame salad

IMG_8074

cabbage sautéed with dry chili

IMG_8077

puffed tofu filled with pork (my mom’s fav)

IMG_8076

kabocha sautéed with garlic and green chili (my latest favorite way to eat kabocha!)

IMG_8075

IMG_8089

sautéed water chestnuts

IMG_8091

smoked tofu sautéed with pork

IMG_8094

pork belly with tofu puffs

IMG_8097

IMG_8093

and my beloved spicy kabocha!

IMG_8095

Stay tune to postpartum food! In chinese tradition, women are really weak after delivering a baby, so special care is needed. In addition to needing a lot of rest and not moving around so much for the first 4-6 weeks, nutrition plays an important role. There’s special recipes for that. I plan to try some! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Food: Big spread of chinese food everyday!

  1. kristaskravings

    It’s only 10am here, but I am SO hungry after looking at all the great food in this post!!

    And being that it is Wednesday….aka baby day….I wish you the absolute best for a safe delivery, Coco!!!

  2. Wow, what an amazing spread! I love kabocha and actually just started growing it in my backyard. The plant is growing so big already, and has produced these large yellow flowers that I’m assuming will eventually become kabocha squashes! My favorite way to cook it is to saute with some soy sauce, sugar, mirin, and dried shrimp until it is caramelized. Yours looks great!

Leave a Reply

