Life: last weekend without Sofia


It was our last weekend without Sofia, by next weekend, she will be here!!! Can’t wait to have her in my arms.

I thought about going on last couple-date with Star, but all I needed was to rest at home. For some reason, sleep sounds better than anything else. So I’ve been napping twice a day and sleep 9+ hrs at night. Maybe it’s my body preparing for the “big day”? I hope so πŸ˜‰

On Friday we went to see a day care nearby. We don’t plan to send Sofia in until she’s 10 months old, when my mom has to go back to China. Since infant care usually has a long waiting list, I’m trying to enlist in a couple ones to make sure to have a spot when the time comes. I know that the best thing would be to spend time with her in the first few years, but I have to go back to work after 12 weeks, and Star will have to work by then as well. Furthermore, I’d like Sofia to have interactions with others babies other than my mom. Although ideally I’d like to send her to daycare when she’s 2 years old, but if that doesn’t work, finding a good daycare is the best I can do.

Many claims having nesting urges before going labor. I don’t… but I felt urge to bake. No for myself, but for my mom and Star. Friday afternoon, I made 3 cakes and 2 batch of cookies.

Cookies #1 made with oatmeal, honey and nuts.

IMG_8086

Cake #1: Β honey cake.

IMG_8081

Honey cake

  • 3/4 cup strong black tea, cooled
  • 1 cup WW flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 3/4 cup honey

1. Mix flour, baking powder, cinnamon and cocoa powder.

2. Mix eggs and sugar. Add the oil and the honey.

3. Mix 1 and 2, bake at 350 F for 45 min.

I also made lower sugar pound cake and WW brownie and froze them.

Made another batch of chocolate nuts cookies and froze them in ball forms.

IMG_8080

My mom and my mom-in-law cleaned the house.

I finished packing the hospital bag.

My mom made a sweater for Sofia, look how cute it is

 

Tomorrow (Monday) will be my last day at work (needs to apply for leave, meet a couple of coworkers to pass work while I’m away), in case I don’t go to labor before Wednesday, I’d like to have a day to mentally prepare for what’s coming next! πŸ™‚

Wooo!!! It is finally IT!!! πŸ™‚

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Life: last weekend without Sofia

  1. kristaskravings

    What a cute sweater! Hope you are still doing well!!!

  2. That sweater is adorable!! Your mom is so talented πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

