Life: weekly recap


Last week my in-laws arrived. It’s their first time visiting us and they will stay until Sofia arrives. Sofia is such a lucky girl to have almost the whole family waiting for her arrival! 🙂

It was a good week at work, I got to know more people and more work-related issues in the new division. Unfortunately I won’t be able to start working on exciting projects yet because I’ll take maternity leave any moment, so basically just learning and meeting people.

Saturday: a friend of mine invited us to her new house, and her parents who are in visiting prepared us a good spread of chinese food

IMG_1595

sautéed bell pepper with smoked tofu and pork

IMG_1586

chicken with bell pepper and green pea

IMG_1587

marinated beef

IMG_1588

bok choy with shiitake and black fungus

IMG_1589

chinese greens

IMG_1590

marinated chicken wings

IMG_1591

sliced eggs and cucumber

IMG_1592

shrimp

IMG_1593

spicy tofu soup

IMG_1596

As you can see, the food is very similar to what my mom cooks because they’re also from Shanghai.

We chatted for hours until I had to request to leave because my legs started to swelling due to sitting for long time.

Sunday: I made two batches of peanut butter cookies, one for Star and one for Star’s parents.

IMG_1606

Peanut Butter cookies:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2/3 cup sugar (replaced by NuNaturals baking blend for the other batch)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (Trader Joe’s, unsalted creamy)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda

1. Beat softened butter for 2 min.

2. Add sugar, beat for another 2 min.

3. Add egg and PB, mix.

4. Incorporate flour in 2-3 batches.

5. Leave the dough in the fridge for 1 hour.

6. Form cookies and bake at 325F for 20 min.

Star’s mom is diabetic, so I made the second batch without sugar. I used NuNaturals baking blend and it tastes pretty good.

I spent the rest of the Sunday reading while the rest of the family went to outlet for some shopping.  Finished Baby Laughs and had some good laughs! 🙂

started Happier at Home

I enjoyed a lot her previous book, The Happiness Project, so when this one came out, I ordered it right away. I enjoy being at home a lot, and want to learn to be even happier! 😉

It was a relaxed weekend. I don’t know whether the next one would be as relaxed as this one, maybe with a new family member? I’m ready to receive her any day but meanwhile I enjoyed some alone time!

Q: What do you do when you’re alone at home? What do you enjoy the most about being at home?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Life: weekly recap

  1. kristaskravings

    I so enjoy when you post Asian eats! They always look so appetizing.

    When I’m home alone I will usually read or bake something. I’m not home alone often, though! 😉

  2. My days of being home alone are over for now, but when I did, I loved reading books and watching movies 🙂 Hope you are feeling well!!

Leave a Reply

