Life: A wonderful baby shower


Last Saturday, 8/18, I attended the first baby shower ever and it was mine and it was FANTASTIC!!!

My dear friend Sarah throwed it for me. It started at 4pm. I prepared some simple snacks and appetizers.

DSC_0010

my dear friend Sarah, who’s an excellent party organizer and a great friend! She’s 26 pregnant as well.

DSC_0013

Her husband Bami was the photographer of the event.

Look how proud I am to be “mom-to-be”

DSC_0021

cheese, ham, crackers, bread, veggies with hummus and homemade empanadas (recipe to come), which is the only thing I made and fortunately everyone loved it! πŸ™‚

IMG_7907

DSC_0044

Look how came from NYC to attend this special event? Maggie and Bobby !!!! πŸ˜† I haven’t seen them for a long time (>1 year?) and we’ve been trying to meet for quite a while. I’m soooo glad that they could make it this time. It is really nice to have them in such a special moment for me. She also blogged about it, you can read it here.

IMG_7896

After snacking and talking for like 1.5 hrs, we started plaing games.

Sarah explained the rules to all

DSC_0069

The first game was to experience how hard is for a newborn to eat. Each participate was given a newborn bottle with 2 oz. of juice and whoever finished it first wins.

DSC_0086

It was definitely harder than anyone had imagined!

Star and Bobby participated in the second round and Bobby was the winner!!!

DSC_0107

The second game was to change dirty diapers. Star and Bami, the two dad-to-be were the contestants. They not only have to change it, they had to do it properly which includes wiping, putting cream and obvioulsy fold the diaper correctly. It was fun to watch how inexperienced they were. πŸ™‚

DSC_0125

The third game is for each participant to guess what features I and Star would like the baby to take from us. Star and I first wrote down separately what we would like Sofia to take from us (nose, hair, yes, feet, abs, etc) and then each participant had to guess our answers.

DSC_0140

Most of the participants guessed 19/22. They simply said that both Star and I wanted everything from me for Sofia!!! hahahah…. how well my friends know me. πŸ˜†

The fourth game was to test three kinds of baby food and guess which are the ingredients.

DSC_0158

it was not as easy as we thought. But we all agreed that poor baby, who has to eat these things… some of them are not very tasty.

DSC_0167

I was the winner of this game… hahaha…. i can still say I’m a foodie then.

The last game was that each participant draws a picture of Sofia and the best pic wins.

DSC_0190

some of them are really really funny!!! I guess that’s expected among a group of mostly economists. πŸ˜‰

DSC_0205

but some of them are pretty good. I’m saving all of them to show to Sofia. We’ll see which one she likes the most.

After the games, we moved to a dessert table. Sarah brought cheesecake, red velvent cake, chocolate cake, fruits and ice cream. It was a beautiful and tasty spread of sweets! πŸ™‚

Some pics with friends.

DSC_0229

DSC_0240

DSC_0241

with Maggie… she’s radiant and happy!!! πŸ™‚

DSC_0242

DSC_0245

There were 4 pregnant ladies, from left to right, 26 weeks, 26 weeks, 34 weeks and 24 weeks

IMG_7969

Happy mom-to-be proudly showing the bellies.

IMG_7971

Last but not the least, my friends were sooo generous on the gifts. I think I have all the major necessities now. Baby could arrive any moment and I’m ready! πŸ™‚

DSC_0235

It was a wonderful afternoon/evening. I had sooo much fun. I laughed soooo hard. After everyone left, Maggie, Bobby, Star and I laid on the couch and chat a bit. By 11pm we were all tired and went to bed. However, I was still very excited and happy, so I barely slept that night out of joy! πŸ™‚ I never imagined how fun my baby shower would turn, how much love I’d receive from friends. I want to thank first to Sarah, my dear friend who organized it, and then Maggie and Bobby to come all the way from NYC, and lastly all the friends who came. They made my day, and defintely a bonus of how great is to be pregnant. πŸ™‚

On Sunday we had leftovers for breakfast before Maggie and Bobby head back to NYC. I hope to see them again soon, probably with Sofia.

We spent the rest of the dayΒ reading, resting and relaxing. I enjoyed every moment of this weekend! πŸ™‚

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Life: A wonderful baby shower

  1. We had so much fun and it was wonderful to see you and Star. Can’t wait to meet little Sofia for real next time!

  2. Jun

    All mums are glowing in the pictures! The cute pink top makes u shine brighter.

  3. Glad you had such a nice shower! Love all the fun pics!

  4. Sounds like a good time! You look great, Coco!

  5. kristaskravings

    So much fun Coco! That baby bottle game looks hilarious! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

