Life: weekly update


  • Highlight of this week: progress on the research project I’m working on. And a retreat that was organized for my cohort. It was a two days retreat, the first day was training about MBTI. It was a long day, from 8:30 to 6:30pm but it was quite interesting. We first did online the assessment and got the result at the training day. My type is ESTJ which stands for Extrovert, Sensing, Thinking and Judging. The combined assessment is incredibly accurate.
    • Decisive, clear and assertive
    • Logical, analytical and objectively critical
    • Adept at organising projects, procedures and people
    • Likely to value competence, efficiency and results
    • Likely to prefer proven systems and procedures
    • Focused on the present, applying relevant past experience to deal with problems
    • Usually seen by others as conscientious, dependable, decisive, outspoken and self-confident

The next day was sailing and team building. I didn’t go because I was quite exhausted by the previous day training. And also I was afraid if I got sick on the boat, I couldn’t get off from it until 7pm. So I stayed home instead.

  • Friday: other than groceries, I stayed at home, mainly on the couch reading Personal Finance for Dummies. It’s about time for me to seriously think about how to manage our income, plan for educational expense for our kids and retirement. So far both Star and I have no clue how to manage money and mostly of our his income went for house purchases. Now that I made all the major purchases, we need to learn how to plan for future events and investment. I already finished 2/3 of the book and learned a tons!!! Next step would be to find a personal finance counselor to do the number, and then ACTION! 😀

IMG_1263

what a view I have for reading 😉

IMG_1261

  • Saturday: I had a brunch date with Sarah. Dressed up for the hot weather

IMG_1279

loving the bright colors!!!

We went to Clarendon and there was a cycling competition going on

IMG_1282

I had grilled salmon over greens

IMG_1283

which was just below average. I didn’t feel so well afterwards.

And we shared a brownie with vanilla ice cream.

IMG_1285

the brownie was not good but the ice cream was.

  • Sunday: Stay-in again. I organized pictures of our honeymoon. Nowadays most pictures are stores in computers but I still like printing some memorable ones and put them in a album! Looking them over again reminded me how much I enjoyed it.

IMG_7514

I made a Very Coconuty Banana Bread

IMG_7515

Very Coconuty Banana Bread (8 slices)

Dry:

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
Wet:
  • 4 eggs beaten
  • 1 cup mashed banana (2 medium)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp honey
Mix dry with wet separately first and then together. Bake for 45 min. Cool 5 min before taking it out. Cut after cooling off.
And I also made soy bean pancakes

IMG_7524

I made soy milk and had 1/2 lb of the pulp. I usually just throw it away but this time I want to make use of it and it turned out incredible tasty!!! 😆

Ingredients:

IMG_7518

  • 250 g soy bean pulp (from making soy milk)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped celery
  • 35 g whole wheat flour
  • 15 g corn starch
  • S+P
Grill them 7 min each side

IMG_7521

They’re packed in protein and really really tasty. And they’re the most natural way to eat soy, much better than any of the processed soy derived products. I can’t wait to try other varieties! NO more waste of pulp ever again! 🙂

A lovely low key weekend came to an end. When I talked to my parents and Star in China, they always asked me if I’m bored at weekends by my own. I really don’t! I always find so many things to do, in a relax way. I think it’s extremely important for ANYONE to know how to be oneself and how to entertain oneself! 🙂

Q1: How do you do financial planning for your family?

Q2: What do you like to do when you’re by yourself?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Life: weekly update

  1. what a cute dress and i must try that coconutty bread looks delish! my tips for personal finance are invest and reinvest! i am always switching up stock options and investing! there is no way to predict the market but to just simply let your money sit in a bank account makes you no money at all! i’m not alone very often but i do enjoy it! i like to listen to music, play my guitar, do a work out or just sit and online shop haha. i don’t get too bored at all 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great weekend, Coco! I don’t do well on my own. I prefer to have company around! When I am alone I like to read. 🙂

  3. I’m lucky eough to have an accountant father (well, lucky in the sense that he helps us financially plan!) and he taught me how to be good with my money, at a very young age.
    You look great, Coco! And I’m loving all these recipes. The soybean pancakes sound delicious.

  4. Looks like the perfect relaxing weekend, Coco! Love the idea of those soy bean pancakes — sounds like the perfect use for soy bean pulp!

Leave a Reply

