Life: weekend happening


It was a long weekend for me. I thought I would get bored being alone, but it turned out to be quite eventful. Let’s recap πŸ˜‰

Friday: I spent the morning organizing old letters/cards/pics and I found this

IMG_0832

wooo!!! It was taken in 2000, and I was probably 20 lb heavier. It was quite shocking how much did I changed during the last 12 years. I think as we age, the fat content of our face gets redistributed elsewhere and we look slimmer.

I did manicure. I didn’t have any spring/summer color, so I used this intense beige one.

IMG_0839

Breakfast continued to be the same. For lunch, I made a salad using canned wild salmon that I have bought 6 months ago.

IMG_0829

butter lettuce, cucumber, tomato, bell pepper, tofu and 1/2 can of salmon. All dressed with 1 tbsp olive oil and 2-3 tbsp the amazing balsamic.

IMG_7197

as dessert, two argentinian chocolates

IMG_7198

IMG_7199

At night, I met with some friends at Cafe Asia for dinner. It’s a place that offers all kind of asian food, chinese, vietnamese, japanese, indonesian and singaporean. I had a Yum salad. Thai style spicy salad with lettuce, cilantro, onion, tossed with fresh chili, garlic and lemon juice, and squid.

IMG_0842

It was way too spicy for me, but had all the squid and 1/2 veggies.

And a tom yum soup with mushrooms and shrimp.

IMG_0843

which was just okay.

After dinner, we went to a Cuban Music Show.

IMG_0844

It was my first time going to a cuban music event. The music is so lively, people were dancing like crazy! πŸ˜‰

My friend Huihui and the husband of another friend, who’s cuban.

IMG_0849

Saturday

AM:

  • Same breakfast
  • Home duties: ironing and organize clothes for spring/summer.
  • Lunch: same salad as Friday.

PM:

  • A much needed nap. I went to sleep past midnight and woke up at 7:30 😯
  • Reading a new book
  • A BBQ party from 7-8:30pm
  • A dinner party from 8:30 – 12pm.

Some of my best friends just became Doctors on Friday so a little celebration for them. πŸ™‚ They did a good job preparing food for like 20+ people. IMG_0874

an israeli coucous salad

IMG_0872

a pasta salad with tuna

IMG_0873

and I made the dessert, choco-nuts petit fours

IMG_0875

It was nice catching up with friends. I also told them the news and they were all very happy for us. πŸ™‚ They were not surprised though because among my friends I’m someone who’s extremely decisive, whenever I say I want to do something, I do it right away! πŸ™‚

Sunday

AM:

  • Groceries. I went to four stores: chinese supermarket, korean supermarket, Tj’s and Whole Food, and under the rain!!! 😯 Fortunately they were all very close by.
  • Lunch

IMG_7205

A black rice, corn meal, red dates and white fungus porridge

IMG_7202

kimchi

IMG_7203

sautΓ©ed chinese greens, black fungus and tofu

IMG_7204

  • Another amazingly enjoyable nap.
  • More reading
  • Planning to have another salad with grilled shrimp for dinner! πŸ™‚

Star is coming back tomorrow!!! Yupi!!! πŸ˜†

Q: What’s your favorite part of the weekend? For me, meeting with friends, late breakfasts and lunches, naps and leisure reading.

2 Comments

Filed under life

2 responses to “Life: weekend happening

  1. Yep, whenever I look back at pictures when I was younger I had a lot of weight in my face as well. Strange how that works. Now it’s all in my stomach!! Darn you hormones.
    Glad you had a nice weekend, Coco!

  2. kristaskravings

    You sure did have a full weekend! Your squid salad sounds so tasty! I’ve never tried kimchi but really want to. Have you ever made it?

Leave a Reply

