Life: weekly update


  • Last week I submitted two papers that I’ve been working for the last 5 months. It was a great relieve to finally get approved by my manager after several rounds of revisions. Now now I’m in a little break before starting a new project soon.
  • More meetings related to job-searching. I’m finalizing this process (fortunately!) and I hope I get to the unit I want. I’ve been lucky to be assigned to where I am now, where I have 100% manage of my time and work program and I didn’t have to travel. From next assignment (3-5 year) I will be doing real work, or the main business of our organization. I’ll be working with others doing projects, meeting other countries’ authorities and traveling. Yes, that part I’m not too excited about because although I love traveling, traveling for work is another story. I have coworkers that started with me, and they’ve been traveling 70% of the time since we started! I wonder if I can do that. I hope I don’t travel more than 4 times a year! Finger crossed. Except for the traveling part, I’m quite excited about what’s going to happen next. It’s a complete new world for me and I’m sure I’ll learn tons.
  • Having Star on a business trip (until next Wednesday) I’ve been hanging a lot with mom. It’s quite nice.
  • Saturday: mom and I went to outlet to buy some gifts for her friends in Shanghai (she’s going back in two week). I got one shirt (Jcrew) and one dress (Banana Republic).

IMG_0517

I like the combination of orange and navy blue. And strips are in fashion this season!

IMG_0518

  • In the afternoon we went to Georgetown because I wanted to try some items in Zara. Unfortunately nothing fit me well so I got nothing. But I ordered some items online later.
  • Sunday: I invited two girl friends to come over for brunch. Look what I prepared for 3 of us and my mom

this dress is actually a pijama, but the pattern is wearable outdoor. I like how soft it is and it was only $20.

IMG_7095

baked salmon with cooking wine, soy sauce, brown sugar and black pepper

IMG_7088

corn bread

IMG_7091

cornbread basic recipe:

  • 1 3/4 cup corn meal
  • 1 3/4 cup milk 2%
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp raw honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
Mix wet and dry ingredients separately and then bake at 375F for 30 min.
Salad made with greens, tomatoes and goat cheese, seasoned with olive oil, lemon juice, S+P.

IMG_7092

fruit salad

IMG_7093

waffles

IMG_7094

basic waffle recipe:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup WW flour
  • 1 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter (melted)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
And the girls brought a lemon pie

IMG_7090

It was a nice brunch, chatting and laughing. I think girls-gathering is fun, relaxing and we can talk topics not-so-interesting for the boys! 🙂

Q: What’s your favorite brunch dish?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Life: weekly update

  1. Terrific spread! Although we don’t do brunch often, my favourite meal at one is a strata….

  2. You’re such an awesome hostess!

  3. what a huge relief to get those papers off of your schedule! i love the feeling of finishing a big project like that! where would you travel all over the world or just within the US? i wish i lived near a zara they have such cute clothing! that salad looks lovely! my fave brunch component is smoked salmon (lox) with capers

  4. I love making mini quiches for brunch. And different salads. Your brunch looks great!

    Glad you get to spend time with your mom before she leaves!

    Have a great week!

  5. My favorite meal always include a cup of hot, steaming coffee and a piece of crusty, artisan multigrain roll smothered with avocado. 🙂

Leave a Reply

