Life: weekly update


  • I spent some time last week reading old posts and the life being grad-student. It seems so long time ago, like it happened in another life. Although the life was quite boring and stressful, mainly research at home alone, I found the way to make it more interesting and taught myself to be more optimist about everything. Meanwhile this blog provided me a space to vent out and the opportunities to interact with fellow bloggers. Although everyday I worked most of the day, I managed to make some creative dishes to complement my boring life. As I tell to people that is considering to do a Ph.D, these 5 years experience will be life-changing, you’ll get so much more from the title itself. It’s a training to one’s mind, one of the best kind.
  • Star left on Thursday night for a business trip for 12 days. I miss him and like him around but this break is good for my mom and me. When Star is around, I spend more of the time with Star so I am taking the advantage of being with my mom alone. It’s nice to be connected with her again. I envy those that talk to mom everyday when they don’t like together. Sometimes I feel that even she’s around, I don’t really communicate with her in a daily basis. I know what she wants is so little, just talk with her to show my love, but I was doing so poorly. I feel bad of being a bad daughter and I will do my best to improve in the future.
  • Friday: off from work. We spent the morning between Tjs, WF and chinese groceries stores. In the afternoon, we watched TV together.
  • Saturday: For lunch I made burger for mom and stir-fry for me.

IMG_7043

it was really easy to make: I used 200g grounded meat, 1/4 cup breadcrumb and 1/2 egg, S+P to make two burgers. Grill it on the stove, add 1 slice of tomato and some lettuce.

IMG_7045

She liked it. After lunch, we were both really full so we need to move around to digest a little bit, we went to Tysons Corner shopping mall.

I got 3 items: 1 strip t-shirt at forever21

IMG_7056

another t-shirt at forever21 that has wholes at the upper arms

IMG_7057

both t-shirts are extremely comfy and lose. Can’t wait to wear them in spring-summer.

A long shirt from H&M.

IMG_7059

the moment we saw it, we both agreed that it would look nice on me and it did!

  • Sunday: leisure morning and after lunch Qiao came with some of her friends and we had a great dinner! 🙂 It was fun to catch up with a friend that we haven’t seen for three years.
7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Life: weekly update

  1. Stephanie

    I admire how you were able to balance work, school, and blog for many years. I wish I was as diligent 🙂
    p.s. I love forever 21! I bought some new clothes there last week.

  2. honestly, the reason i chose not to pursue a PhD was because i didn’t think i could handle that kind of intense duration for 6 years (in science it’s always a bit longer). i didn’t want to give up my life and it wasn’t the right time in my life to pursue it. i don’t have any regrets but i admire people like you who can stick it out and get the advanced degree! i only talk to my mom 2-3x a month these days!

  3. I think you are a rockstar for balancing everything so well — you are one busy lady! I LOVE that blue shirt!!

  4. It’s neat to go back and review old posts, isn’t it? How long is your Mom in the USA, Coco?

  5. grad school was an extremely stressful time for me, too! sometimes i look back and wonder how the heck i did everything all at once. but i also really appreciated that space where i wasn’t required to be somewhere for 8 consecutive hours. i miss that freedom.

    love that h&m shirt!!

  6. Life is all about balance. I like the shirts..especially the white one.

  7. Glad you enjoyed your week, Coco! NIck will be gone for a few days in June and we haven’t spent time apart in SO LONG, but like you said, it’s good to have some time apart, and I’m actually looking forward to it, I won’t lie 🙂
    I love the blue shirt!! I need to get out and get some shopping done now that the weather is getting cooler.
    Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

