Food: making egg rolls


Last weekend we bought a panini/griddle and the first thing I made was egg rolls (蛋卷). When I was a kid, I only get to eat egg rolls occasionally because it is quite expensive in China. And when I turned 20 years old, I stopped liking sweets. But my mom still loves sweets and she misses the egg rolls she used to buy in our old apartment in Shanghai. So I attempted to make it for her. 🙂

IMG_7006

The dough was made using

  • 70g butter (soften)
  • 100g sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 90g flour
1. mix butter with sugar
2. add 1 egg at the time
3. incorporate flour
4. heat the griddle until 350F
5. Add 1 big spoon of the mix and spread until a thin layer (1-2 mm)

IMG_7005

6. wait 2-3 min until the border starts to get brown.

7. flip and cook for another 1-2 min

8. roll

IMG_7004

let it set

IMG_7007

IMG_7009

It looks and tastes great, although not as crunchy as it should be. More improvement needs to be done! 🙂

Q: Have you tried egg rolls? If you haven’t, I recommend you to try it. It’s similar to crepes but thicker and it is usually eaten by it own.

3 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

3 responses to “Food: making egg rolls

  1. I have never had egg rolls. They look similar to rolled crepes, right? Sounds delicious!

  2. This isn’t what I think of when I think of egg rolls. Egg rolls to me are these fried burrito things with shredded cabbage and pork inside! But these do look good. I think I’d like them if they weren’t sweet.

  3. I had no idea that’s what an egg roll was supposed to be. To me, they’re fried and filled with veggies and meat. So interesting – I want to try your version!

Leave a Reply

