Life: 2011 Retrospective


It’s time to recap 2011 which for me was one of the most important year in my life. Big and important changes happened. To make the recap easier, I will do the same Q&A as Elizabeth’s.

  1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before? I got married, I got a job, I climbed the highest mountain in Africa.
  2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions and will you make more for next year? These were my 2011 resolution, I accomplished some  (traveled four continents, be present and worry less about future), failed some (drink less coffee, eat less kabocha, practice/learn more about chinese medicine).
  3. Did anyone close to you give birth? No.
  4. Did anyone close to you die? My grandma.
  5. What countries did you visit? Australia, Greece, Tanzania, China.
  6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011? 2011 was one of the best year in my life, I just want to continue this way.
  7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? 7/31, our wedding day, filled with love, emotions and joy.
  8. What were your biggest achievements of the year? Finish my Ph.D, climbed Kilimanjaro, started a dream job, bought  a dream house.
  9. What was your biggest failure? None.
  10. Did you suffer illness or injury? No.
  11. What was the best thing you bought? A house.
  12. Whose behavior merited celebration? My husband, for being there for me always, for taking care of me the same way he did 10 years ago. My BFF, for coming on my wedding.
  13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? None.
  14. Where did most of your money go? House, wedding and trips.
  15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Starting to work and live in our new house.
  16. What song will always remind you of 2011? Someone like you, Adele
  17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a)happier or sadder; b)thinner or fatter; c)richer or poorer? Happier, same, richer.
  18. What do you wish you had done more of? Talking more to my parents and close friends, and reading.
  19. What do you wish you had done less of? iPading.
  20. How did you spend Christmas? 12/24 with my advisor and 12/25 with my family.
  21. Did you fall in love in 2011? Yes. Again.
  22. What was your favorite tv program? None.
  23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? No.
  24. What was the best book you read? I wish I read more.
  25. What was your greatest musical discovery? Pandora
  26. What did you want and get? A job that I would love.
  27. What did you want and not get? Nothing.
  28. What was your favorite film of 2011? Inception.
  29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? 31, I celebrated with my family in a nice restaurant.
  30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Nothing. 2011 was the best I could ever asked for.
  31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept of 2011? elegant, chic and feminine.
  32. What kept you sane? My husband, my friends and exercise.
  33. What political issue stirred you the most? None.
  34. Who did you miss? My close friends.
  35. Who was the best new person you met? Sarah.
  36. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011. Always pursue your dream, it is closer than you think.
4 Comments

Filed under life

4 responses to “Life: 2011 Retrospective

  1. Yep, Inception WAS a great movie! Nick and I were just talking about how we’d like to see it again, because it’s one of those movies that you should watch twice in case you missed anything.
    I hope 2012 is as exciting for you as 2011 was. You accomplished so much!

  2. What a great year you had!

  3. you had quite a year! you got married on my mother’s birthday! awww #21 is so sweet!

  4. You had such an exciting year! I really enjoyed reading all your travel posts. I know I never comment, but you’re in my reader and I never miss posts from you. XO

Leave a Reply

