Life: Birthday 2011, one of the best birthday celebration!


It was my first birthday in the US and with all my family! I am soooo happy! 😆

IMG_6365

I had the option to celebrate at home with a group of friends or to go to a nice restaurant and have an intimate dinner with my parents and Star. I opted the later because I wanted to enjoy the moment with my closest ones.

IMG_6317

I spent an hour and half showering, brunching my hair and dressing up for the night. It was so relaxing, almost an religious experience! 🙂

IMG_6331

I had this black dress with belt for over a year and didn’t have many occasions to wear but I love it, it’s elegant and simple.

IMG_6342

My favorite restaurant in DC area is CitiZen (we went there twice before), so when Star asked me where I wanted to go, CitiZen was on my top list. Unfortunately it was closed yesterday (12/25) but their sister restaurant Sou’Wester was opened. I was skeptical at first but when I entered the place, I knew we were going to have a great dining experience.

For 12/24 and 12/25 they had a Family-Style menu

We start with some warm corn bread and biscuit with butter

IMG_6346

Four appetizers: Kanagy Farms Smoked Shoat Ham Salad with Focaccia Crostinis

IMG_6348

Rappahannock River Oysters Gratine

IMG_6349

Celery Rott & Grapefruit Salad

IMG_6350

Sou’Wester Hush Puppies with Honey Butter

IMG_6351

Three entrees:

Roasted Christmas Goose “Three Ways”

IMG_6353

Stuffed Neck with Armagnac-Giblets Gravy

IMG_6354

Confit legs

IMG_6355

Glazed Breast

IMG_6356

Prime Ribeye Roast

IMG_6357

and New England Loster Pot Pie

IMG_6362

Three sides:

Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Butternut Squash and Smoked Bacon

IMG_6352

Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes

IMG_6358

Braised Collard Greens with Black Eyed Peas

IMG_6361

Everything was beyond delicious, Exquisite!!!!!! We were all pretty stuffed by then. But the waiter appeared with a birthday cake

IMG_6363

it was so pretty and it was specially dedicated to Star’s little girl, me! 🙂

I made three wishes

IMG_6367

Celebrating the birthday at such an amazing place with my loved ones was the BEST! I couldn’t think of anything else! 🙂

IMG_6371

It was a carrot cake, and it was soooooo good! We all tried some and took the rest to home.

IMG_6374

Because we had four desserts!!!!!!!!!

Brioche pudding with eggnog

IMG_6375

chocolate hazelnut cream cake (the best!!!!)

IMG_6376

lemon cheesecake (incredibly smooth and fresh!)

IMG_6377

lava chocolate cake with green tea ice cream

IMG_6378

These are the best selection of desserts I”ve ever had! We all agreed on that! Despite our fullness, I managed to finish 1/2 of everything.

What a wonderful evening! I wish I can celebrate my birthday every year like this, have my parents and my dearest husband with me! 🙂

I have several posts lined up :

– How I spend Christmas Eve and this year’s birthday gift.

– Recent decor projects finished pics

– 2011 recap

Q1: What’s the best of 2011 for you?

Q2: What’s the best food you had so far during the holiday season?

5 Comments

Filed under food, life

5 responses to “Life: Birthday 2011, one of the best birthday celebration!

  1. oh happy bday! i’m so glad you got to spend it with your most loved ones 🙂 every single thing you posted looked delicious esp the meats! the best of 2011 included our move to the city, finding the townhome of our dreams, me finding my dream job & spending time at the beach together relaxing. the best food i had so far was prob the 13lb prime rib roast we had at our holiday feast! nate cooked it perfectly medium rare!

  2. Happy Birthday!!! Or, belated birthday I should say. It looks like it was an unforgettable one. Four desserts?!?! I think I would have been fine with four pieces of carrot cake, and ONLY carrot cake! It looks heavenly.

    The best thing I’ve had all season had to be my future mother-in-law’s meatballs. Each year they get better and better.

  3. Happy birthday and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Whew, lots going on!! XO

  4. What a delicious looking feast! So glad to hear that you had a fabulous birthday, spent just the way you wanted… 🙂

Leave a Reply

