Food: fermented rice and zucchini muffin


How was everyone’s Monday? Mine was terrific! Very productive. Second week at the new job and already found a co-author and one project has started! FAST I am! In most of the things I do I’m very fast! hehehehe…. you guys are smart! I bet you guessed right about the “big” news. Hold down, I’ll reveal it soon.

I left work at 6:15pm. Grabbed baguette at Au Bon Pain, the WW kind, and ate the whole thing on my way back home :shock:! Work is hard! 😆 well…. that’s not true, but it’s energy consuming.

7:15 pm- home – dinner black chicken soup, stir-fry chinese mustard green with oyster mushroom, baked kabocha, coconut ice cream! well… I was hungry!!!

8:15pm- coach – wait for the husband.

8:55pm- coach- husband not coming yet!

9:05pm- coach- blogging! It’s nice to have a hobbie 😉

Today I want to share two recipes that I made over the weekend.

#1: Fermented rice

IMG_5878.JPG

It’s a typical dish in China. It’s great to improve blood circulation and it’s very nutritious. It takes 24-48 hrs to make.

Day 1: soak glutinous rice (1 lb) for at least 12 hrs

Day 2:

  • steam rice for 30 min
  • use 2 g of rice leaven dissolved in water

IMG_5755.JPG

make sure that it’s just 2 g.

IMG_5759.JPG

  • let the rice cool until you can touch it.
  • mix the rice with the leaven, add a splash of water

IMG_5756.JPG

  • pad it well

IMG_5767.JPG

  • wrap the bowl with plastic and towel
  • put it in the oven
  • wait at least 24 hrs until some liquid has released and the rice become sweet and sour
How to eat it?
This morning, I boiled 8 glutinous rice filled with black sesame, add the fermented rice and a beaten egg.
It’s delicious and very very nutritious!

IMG_5902.JPG

#2:zucchini muffin

IMG_5901.JPG

Every morning I’m rushing out…I need a quick breakfast solution. So I made these.

DSCN0006.JPG

Ingredients for 6:

  • 3 eggs beaten
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 3/4 cup rye flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp stevia baking blend
  • cinnamon/salt
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini

DSCN0010.JPG

bake for 30 min at 330F

IMG_5899.JPG

Simple, nutritious and yummy~~~ 🙂

Q1: What’s your grab-to-go breakfast?

Q2: Do you like your job? Why?

7 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

7 responses to “Food: fermented rice and zucchini muffin

  1. Fermented rice?! Now that’s a new one for me! It actually looks (and sounds) really good. I tend to like fermented foods (miso, kimchi, soukraut, tempeh, yogurt)….so I’d probably like this!

    My favorite grab and go breakfast is my granola with almond milk. I will eat it from a plastic cup if I have to!

    I love my job, because I’m doing what I always wanted to do….working in a grocery store!

  2. I love when you post authentic Chinese eats! So interesting! If I have to grab breakfast on the run it will usually be toast with almond butter and jam. As for my job? Payroll is b-o-r-i-n-g!!! 😉

  3. DiningAndDishing

    I love my job! Working at a winery is something I’ve wanted to do for a while now and I’m so happy I have the chance to do it now. I only wish it paid enough so I could live on that job forever :). It’s so nice that you love your job too!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. These are the kinds of recipes i’ve been looking for. So healthy and delicious. More importantly health smart. The fermented rice i would love to try, and the recipe for the zucchini muffins look great, and healthy.

  5. that looks yummy & healthy! my go to breakfast is oatmeal with cinnamon, natural almond butter and a banana with coffee & soy milk 🙂

  6. my grab and go breakfast is a smoothie or a green juice. i hate rushing my breakfast so i’d rather sip something than choke down solid food in a hurry haha. i love my new job! i feel so fulfilled like it’s exactly what i’m supposed to be doing and the people are so great!

  7. Annie

    i dunno i’m kinda scared to try.

    however the muffins i will!

Leave a Reply

