Life: now what? two big changes


So I’ve been traveling around the globe the last three months touching ground in 4 continents; I’ve been on semi-vacation-mode the last 8 months! You might wonder… where am I heading now? Two big changes:

1) I will start a real life, a normal person’s kind of life, a job, responsibilities, 9-7 desk job! Yes. I am starting my first job on Monday! I mentioned hereΒ I got the job I wanted in march this year. I’m excited to start a new chapter of life, leave the student life and finally become an adult! πŸ™‚ I can’t reveal where I’ll be working (if you’re interested, shoot me an email), but let’s say…. it’s an international organization that tries to help people around the world! πŸ™‚ The idea of being part of it is enough to make this job fulfilling. In addition to that, the work environment is like United Nations with people from different countries and cultures. I think it’s the perfect fit for me. πŸ™‚

2) Star and I will live together 7 days a week!!! YEAH! πŸ˜† Okay. you might not recall the details. Since his arrival last year, he’s been living close to his office during the week and come to my place on weekends. It was good and a smooth transition from living alone to live together, specially in a tiny apartment. But during the honeymoon we’ve decided that we should live together everyday! πŸ˜€

So… since he’s moving in. I need to make space for him!

This is my apartment on Friday morning….

IMG_5693.JPG

basically upside down!

My closet before

IMG_5696.JPG

Closet at the living room

IMG_5695.JPG

I went to ContainerStoreΒ and got a bunch of useful stuffs for closet organization

IMG_5694.JPG

Being jet lagged made me super productive at 3AM. After almost 24 hrs of organization. This is how they look

Living room closet

IMG_5715.JPG

I got the 12-pair shoe organizerΒ 

IMG_5716.JPG

IMG_5718.JPG

winter shoes are stored in plastic boxes at the top

IMG_5719.JPG

shell divider to store large handbags

My closet

IMG_5720.JPG

IMG_5724.JPG

In order to save space and be able to hang more things in a limited space, I got the Adjustable Closet Rod to make two rows.

IMG_5730.JPG

Two stacking drawers to store scarfs and Pj’s

IMG_5729.JPG

IMG_5733.JPG

a bin to put store bags/clutches

IMG_5734.JPG

Bags at the top as well

I also got two jewelry organizers

IMG_5737.JPG

they are stackable

IMG_5736.JPG

I used the plastic box to organize makeup

IMG_5748.JPG

IMG_5744.JPG

IMG_5745.JPG

IMG_5747.JPG

the vanity space πŸ™‚

IMG_5749.JPG

I’m very happy with how the closets look now, all fit in and organized! I love organizing things. It gives me so much satisfaction afterward!

Fuel was needed for such demanding work πŸ˜‰

Thai stir-fry of veggies with shrimp + polenta cake

IMG_5701.JPG

I used the Tj’s Thai Curry Sauce, broccoli slaw, onion, peppers and shrimp to make the dish. It was quick, easy and tasty!

IMG_5698.JPG

For breakfast I made a yogurt/berry/cereal mess

IMG_5707.JPG

golden berries, fage and almond butter

IMG_5711.JPG

later I add 1 cup of Tj’s Bran Flakes

IMG_5713.JPG

I don’t usually eat bran flakes, but in Tanzania, Sarah (a new friend) introduced it to me and I like it now. πŸ™‚

IMG_5708.JPG

and a cup of multi-bean milk (soy, mung, aduki and black beans)

today the Kili-8 (what we call ourselves about climbing Kili) is having a BBQ to revive the experience. Can’t wait! πŸ™‚

Q1: Do you like organizing your closet? Any tips?

Q2: What’s your latest food obsession? I need inspirations.. I’ve been food interestless since I left Tanzania. African food made everything else tasteless.

5 Comments

Filed under life

5 responses to “Life: now what? two big changes

  1. Nice! Your 2 new things are exciting, I’m so happy for you πŸ™‚

    I got some organizing stuff at Ikea for my closet. Still need some more though.

    Hmm latest food obsession… I’m not sure. Maybe the carnitas pork at Chipotle? I really like it.

  2. So funny you ask about food obsessions because lately I’ve been thinking about polenta a LOT! And now you had it on your blog, so I really want some!
    I have been into soups and salads lately (creamy thick starchy soups, and LARGE salads with lots of veggies and chicken or tuna). Boring, maybe, but so good!

    I’m happy to hear you are settled and getting ready to start your dream job. And you finally get to live with Star, full-time! I couldn’t be happier for you both.

  3. I love organizing once I get at it. Sometimes it seems so daunting that I just ignore it. Sarah is reorganizing her room, though so we’ve been going through a lot of her things.

    Congrats on starting the new job! I hope your first day is awesome!!

  4. Annie

    congrats coco!!

    can you now organize my closet? πŸ˜›

  5. Your closet looks awesome! You have some killer shes in there! If you’re a sz.7 can I borrow those smokin’ knee high leather boots?! πŸ˜‰ lol!

    Latest food obsession, anything that doesn’t give me an allergic reaction. Seriously. lol!

Leave a Reply

