Travel: Beijing with Mara and Gunther I


I’m on my way to Tanzania. I’m not sure if I’ll have internet access there, so I scheduled some posts from our trip to Beijing. πŸ™‚

************

Since Mara and Gunther come to China for my wedding, they also wanted to visit Beijing. So Star and I went there to meet them on 7/24. After we check-in at the hotel, we went to the most famous Roast Duck place in Beijing.

The chef comes with a cart with the whole duck and slices it in front of us.

DSCN1313.JPG

IMG_0474

DSCN1321.JPG

To eat it, we place on a pancake some sliced scallion, a thick soy sauce and 1-2 pieces of duck

DSCN1322.JPG

roll it and bon apetite! πŸ™‚

DSCN1323.JPG

DSCN1324.JPG

Mara and I haven’t seen each other since my last visit to Germany, 1.5 years ago. We’re both glad that we’re increasing the frequency of our meetings! πŸ™‚

DSCN1325.JPG

We walked around and saw mini scorpion BBQ.

DSCN1328.JPG

obviously Gunther had to had one! πŸ™‚

DSCN1330.JPG

and there was a traditional skill show on the street: blow a candy monkey

DSCN1337.JPG

as I blow, the man was making the monkey

IMG_0501

voila, a candy monkey blowed by myself πŸ˜‰

IMG_0503

IMG_0492

We also had the famous 狗不理 dumplings

IMG_0648

we went to θ€θˆθŒΆι¦†, a traditional tea house to see a chinese show

DSCN1396.JPG

DSCN1401.JPG

DSCN1406.JPG

Although I’ve been in Beijing many times before, but this time with Mara and Gunther is the most fun one. Well… I guess I’ll have fun wherever I go with these two people! πŸ˜‰

More to come! πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under travel

3 responses to “Travel: Beijing with Mara and Gunther I

  1. DiningAndDishing

    How fun!! So jealous of all the travelling you get to enjoy :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. Annie

    oh how fun!
    im too chicken to eat scorpion though!

  3. Looks like such a wonderful time, Coco, I’m glad you’re having a great time with your friends! Blowing a candy monkey looks like so much fun!

Leave a Reply

