Food: Mom’s birthday celebration


Last Saturday was Mom’s 61 birthday and we had a great lunch with our closest families.

IMG_3785.JPG

Since it’s quite hot lately, I ordered 11 cold dishes.

sliced green beans with mushrooms

IMG_3767.JPG

glazed short pork ribs

IMG_3769.JPG

chicken with sesame sauce

IMG_3771.JPG

eggplant salad

IMG_3772.JPG

mushrooms and meat in sticks

IMG_3779.JPG

mung bean noodles a la Sichuan

IMG_3780.JPG

sour and spicy mung bean noodles

IMG_3781.JPG

spicy black fungus salad (one of my favorites)

IMG_3782.JPG

raped greens with a peanut butter sauce (another favorite!)

IMG_3783.JPG

cucumber with oyster sauce

IMG_3784.JPG

lotus root filled with glutinous rice

IMG_3786.JPG

Hot dishes:

spicy sauteed cabbage

IMG_3788.JPG

fish fillet in a extra spicy sauce

IMG_3789.JPG

griddle bullfrog with chips

IMG_3790.JPG

eggplant stew

IMG_3792.JPG

lettuce in oyster sauce

IMG_3794.JPG

gluten balls with pok choy

IMG_3795.JPG

sliced pork in red sauce served with buns

IMG_3797.JPG

fish head with chili sauce

IMG_3798.JPG

fermented rice with glutinous rice balls

IMG_3799.JPG

glutinous rice ball made with purple sweet potato

IMG_3801.JPG

a traditional chinese pie made with mainly flour and sesame seed

IMG_3802.JPG

IMG_3803.JPG

corn bake

IMG_3804.JPG

my mom looks younger than her age, isn’t she?

IMG_3773.JPG

After lunch I took my sister-in-law for a coffee. Look how sweet she is! šŸ™‚

IMG_3776.JPG

It was the first time we talk face by face, alone, for 2.5 hrs! She’s about the graduate and has to start looking for job. She’s also in the age of dating. Star and his family are worried about her and don’t know what else they can do to help her. So I offered to talk to her. Maybe I can give her some advices! šŸ™‚ It turned out to be a really pleasant conversation for both of us. I’ve always liked her but this time I got to know her more and better, and my intuition was like, she’s a good girl and I like her! šŸ™‚ She also found our conversation to be pleasant and useful. I gave her tips for job interview and weight loss. Anyone interested on those too?

Q: Do you have sister/s-in-law? What’s your relationship with her/them?

6 Comments

Filed under food

6 responses to “Food: Mom’s birthday celebration

  1. Your mom looks so good, Coco!!!! I would have NEVER guessed her age!!!! šŸ™‚

  2. Happy b-day to your (very young!!) mom!! She does look great.
    The food sounds wonderful, as always. Bullfrog, lots of “gluten” and fish heads….what not to love?!
    I have a good relationship with Nick’s sisters, but we are so different it’s hard to really bond sometimes. They are also older and one already has kids! I’m happy to hear your relationship with Star’s sister is a good one. Making new friends in the family is always nice.

  3. Annie

    everything looks great!

    happy birthday to your mom!

  4. Hi Coco! which restaurant is this? i’m quite familiar with the city and I would love to know. I really enjoy sichuan/spicy chinese food, but I find that most restaurants incorporate too much MSG. :S. Thanks!

  5. Wow, what a gorgeous feast this is, Coco (the traditional Chinese pie looks really tasty)! A huge happy birthday to your mom!!

  6. Your Mom is beautiful! And I love how all the food dishes are set out in a ring on the centre of the table. šŸ™‚ Glad you were able to catch up with your SIL. Mine lives a few hours away, but I think she’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

