Life: dilemma of a developing country


I finally finished scanned all the old pictures!!! It took me 3 days!!!

My nickname is little girl because Star calls me that way and I really like it. Although I’m in my early-30s, I feel that part of me still feels like a little girl. πŸ™‚

As I browse these old pictures, a lot of memories came to mind! I’m amazed how much our life standard changed through the last 20 years. In case that you are unfamiliar with China, let me tell you something: in the 80s, the income inequality in China was non existent. Almost everyone get paid the same. Everyone consumed the same way. There were food quota (like you can’t buy more than 1/2 dozen of eggs per week). The living standard was much lower than today’s China but I dare to say that people weren’t less happy than today, probably happier. It’s true that the economic growth brought a lot to the median chinese: purchasing power, plenty of food, travels, etc, it also caused tremendous inequality. And as we know, part of unhappiness come from comparing with others, and that is intense in chinese cities.

Running a large country with such a big population is hard. If I run the government, I would like to bring more resources to the people so they don’t have to worry about food, clothes and health. As an economist, I also know that everything is about incentives. The only way for the progress to happen is that there are people who would want to work harder and in a more innovative way, and they will only do that if they get paid more than others who don’t. So income inequality is inevitable in the economic development, or I would say almost necessary. Β But then, inequality makes people less happy.

So here’s the dilemma: economic growth vs. income inequality.Β 

It’s an interesting debate and I would like to hear your thoughts!

Okay. enough serious talk, lets enjoy some pics of the little girl πŸ™‚

1-month

1_month

4-month

4_month

8-month

7_month

2

I used to be chubby πŸ˜‰

302

I was fashionable with the limited resource we had πŸ˜‰

10

My favorite cousin

1003

I learned from early age how to pose for pictures πŸ˜‰

1204

and then I lost all my chubbiness at age of 9.

1302

1402

but I didn’t always look like a little girl. You’d confuse me with a boy

5_month

6_month

7_month_4

I looked worried

8_month

10_month

I don’t remember having any toy when I was a kid except a inflammable boat

2203

I have a lot of more, some of them are really bad… I looked so old fashioned. πŸ˜€ I might show you some of them next time! πŸ˜‰

9 Comments

Filed under life

9 responses to “Life: dilemma of a developing country

  1. Interesting……we have very similar photos!!! the pose and the background !
    your mom doesn’t change much:)

  2. Great pics!!

    Very intelligent insights about how economic growth has changed lifestyles in China… I agree that comparing ourselves to others can cause a lot of harm, and while an “improved” standard of living may be beneficial in some ways, it can definitely be bad in others (people tend to be unhappier). Interesting!!

  3. i LOVE this post coco!!

  4. Such interesting info on China’s economy, Coco. I’d love to hear more about your experiences. And such cute baby pics!!!

  5. DiningAndDishing

    adorable pics coco! i can see your face in them at every stage :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. Mara

    Que linda!!!

  7. omgshh you were such a cute lil girl Coco! hehehe and you look hot in those red leggings! πŸ˜‰
    I can’t believe you’re going to Tanzania! I’ve always wanted to go to Africa–can’t wait for the updates.

  8. Yes, please show them!! I love looking at baby/toddler pictures πŸ™‚ And you were so cute! Little girl. Now I understand where that came from. I love it!

    I can completely imagine how life now would be more difficult, in some ways, than it was before in China. Even though that sounds …. strange, I can understand. So much of people’s unhappiness has to do with competition and comparing themselves to others. We all do it, it’s inherent in our genes!!

  9. CUTE photos, Coco! I love the one where you’re rocking the shades!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

