Food: 菠萝包 pineapple bread & banana bread


Yesterday I attempted to make pineapple bread with no pineapple. It’s a popular bread in Asia. I think it is originated in Singapore.

This is the end product.

IMG_3336.JPG

The bread is slightly sweet and the crust has a mild butter flavor. My parents like them a lot! 😆

Pineapple bread or Bo Luo Bao

For the bread:

  • 120g water (room temperature)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 20g butter, melted
  • 25g sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 250g flour
  • 1 tsp yeast

For the crust:

  • 30g butter
  • 30g powdered sugar
  • 1/2 egg, beaten
  • 1 tbsp half and half
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 50g flour

Method:

1. Make the dough for the bread with the bread man dough cycle

IMG_3321.JPG

2. Make the crust by mixing the ingredients in that order and put the dough in the fridge for 60 min.

3. Once the dough is ready, separate the dough into 7 balls and cover it with 1/7 of the crust dough.

IMG_3330.JPG

4. Let it rise for 60 min in a warm place

IMG_3329.JPG

5. Bake at 350F for 25min

IMG_3333.JPG

I love love love fresh baked breads! They always smell amazing and look cute (to me ;))

IMG_3334.JPG

I also made banana bread for mom. Although she loves pound cakes, they are too high in butter, so I made her banana bread instead and replaced half of the butter by banana.

IMG_3324.JPG

12 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

12 responses to “Food: 菠萝包 pineapple bread & banana bread

  1. Both breads look gorgeous, but I’m really intrigued by that pineapple bread! I’d love to try that!

  2. Me too! Pineapple bread sounds awesome. Do you have to change the recipe or do you just add pineapple?

  3. Both breads look wonderful. I find the idea of a pineapple bread without pineapple really amusing. I hope you have a great day. I’m new to your blog but enjoyed the time I spent here and will be back. Blessings…Mary

  4. those look so delicious!!

  5. omg, that sounds awesome!!!

  6. Mmmmm those breads look delicious! I love fresh homemade bread.

  7. Pineapple bread sounds delicious!!

  8. looks like you’ve been busy baking! and it’s great that you were able to modify a recipe to make it more nutritious. 🙂

  9. PIneapple bread ?? Yum!! Sounds amazing. And of course, you can never go wrong with banana bread. An all-time World classic 🙂

  10. Your bread creations always look so darn delcious!!! I bet your apartment smells amazing and makes all your neighbours jealous! 🙂

  11. I can not believe you made this!!!!!!!! you know that 冰火菠萝油 is my favorite Cantonese restaurant!!! YOu are soooo talented 🙂

Leave a Reply

