Food: mom cooks and I bake


Since mom arrived 1.5 month ago, I haven’t cooked AT ALL! When it was only mom and I, we ate simple food. A lot of veggies and some seafood. But now that my dad arrived, more food is needed. Let me tell you, my dad has a monster appetite!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ He seems to have a bottomless stomach. He doesn’t excercice other than walking 1-2 hours everyday, but his appetite is ADMIRABLE! He’s 64 yrs old and he eats like a teenager! Everything seems so tasty to him and he likes trying EVERYTHING! I’m the bad “daughter” telling him constantly to “Not eat too much”, “it’s high in saturate fat”, “it’s high in colesterol”, etc. Sometimes he’d listen, sometimes not. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Samples of daily food:

cucumber sauteed with shrimp head

IMG_2888.JPG

broccoli with mushrooms

IMG_2891.JPG

tofu with shrimp

IMG_2894.JPG

garlic green peas

IMG_2896.JPG

bok choy with mushrooms

IMG_2897.JPG

่พฃ้…ฑ my dad’s favorite dish. Cubed pork, potatoes, carrots, oyster mushroom, smoked tofu cooked with a red spicy sauce.

IMG_2958.JPG

fried fish cooked with chinese pickles

IMG_2960.JPG

bok choy

IMG_2962.JPG

water chesnut sauteed with chinese pickles

IMG_2963.JPG

chinese chives sauteed with pork, smoked tofu and dry chili

IMG_2964.JPG

sauteed green beans

IMG_2965.JPG

My mom is in charged of the cooking and I do the rest: BAKING! ๐Ÿ˜†

The day we came back from Orlando, I baked her pound cake with green raisins.

IMG_2905.JPG

IMG_2907.JPG

and when my Dad arrived the following day, I made him bread with dry pork floss

IMG_2849.JPG

I’m clipping a lot of other baking goodies to make. They’re leaving tomorrow for a tour (Niagaras Fall, Boston and NYC) for 6 days. A little break from my dear parents ๐Ÿ˜‰ Wait… does it mean I have to cook? Maybe! Mom prepared 70 wontons for me in case that I continue to be lazy ๐Ÿ™‚

Q: What’s your parents’ eating style? My mom eats everything in moderation. My dad is a lost case. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ He enjoys EVERYTHING TOO MUCH!

12 Comments

Filed under food

12 responses to “Food: mom cooks and I bake

  1. I loved seeing all your vacation photos with mom. I miss mine so dearly after seeing those fun pictures you guys took! Lucky you and your 70 wontons. I actally made 150 dumplings with my friends from school 2 days ago. SO delicious when it’s fresh!!!

    So funny that my parents sound like they eat just like yours. My mom is pretty good about eating in moderation and she actually eats very little meat. Dad on the otherhand…SIGH…eats EVERYTHING and anything. It’s super hard for him not to eat meat at any given meal. It’s so bad for his health and I’m trying to encourage him to eat better, healthier. It’s even harder in Shanghai…food there is soo good!!!

    Speaking of Shanghai! I bought my ticket to go in July!! So excited!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You are such a GOOD daughter and full of love, concern, and amazing intentions! I will tell you, though – research suggests that people are not persuaded by those close to them whom they think have an agenda. The most persuasive information comes from an impartial party, and it’s especially effective in behavior change when the person overhears the information on their own. So it’s unlikely that anything you say will change Dad. I don’t mean to frustrate you!

  3. yummy!!

    your bread looks soooo good!

  4. My mom pretty much eats in moderation, but not exactly healthily. The one thing she doesn’t eat (well, drink) in moderation is coffee with horrible coffee mate. My dad completely eats in moderation and pretty healthily too. It’s like second nature to him. It’s kind of annoying, actually. hehe

  5. no that is a blessing Coco! I’m sure your dad is sooo healthy considering that he’s still so full of youth and physical hunger ๐Ÿ™‚ My mom has bad stomach troubles, so she’s moderate as well. My dad eats very few times a day, and a lot at once. I think he’d be better off by eating more often.

  6. It’s so sweet how your mom’s been cooking for you…and that pound cake you made her looks fantastic! Hope your parents have a fun trip!

  7. DiningAndDishing

    looks like you’re having some good eats with your fam in town! my mum is very restrained with her eating. my dad also loves to eat – but she makes sure he doesn’t eat too much! ๐Ÿ™‚

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. My parents have their “set” food items that they eat, but are not very adventurous when it comes to other styles/cuisines. When we are all there for dinner it’s pretty much the same; lasagna, steak, sausage, roasted potatoes, asaparaus, salad. After 37yrs, I get pretty bored with it! HAHA!!!

  9. Everything looks soooo familiar and delicious!!! if my parents are here, we probably eat the same dish!!! I love that ๅ…ซๅฎ่พฃ้…ฑ๏ผŒits’ my Dad’s favorite too. It seems that they never care about fat or cholesterol – and also never have a problem…. :-p

  10. My mom eats everything, sometimes too much, sometimes too little. It balances out. My dad eats mostly at night (bc he preaches in the evening) and he eats a LOT!!! But he loves healthy food like vegetables and seafood, so I’m just glad he eats well and is happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I think men are more reluctant to change their eating habits, especially if they seem overall pretty healthy. My dad eats really well half the time, but really BAD the other half of the time. It’s so strange. He tries to watch what he eats, but then he orders fried bologna sandwiches when we go to dinner (yuck!!). I feel like the more I nag, the less willing he is to change, so I’ve learned to keep my mouth shut.

  12. Weighting For 50

    Your food shots ALWAYS make me so hungry. My parents eating having have evolved, they’re much more health conscious now than when we were younger.

Leave a Reply

