Food: chinese leek empanada 韭菜盒子


Leek filled empanada is a well known dish in China although we never have it at home. I remembered first time having it 17 years ago back in Argentina, not in China. I’ve always wanted to make it but was afraid working with dough. Now that I have someone that prepares the dough, I finally made it!  Well…. actually I didn’t make it, I made my mom to do the work and I was the technical assistant! 😉

For the dough:

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup WW flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp yeast
Once the dough was ready, divide it in 6 balls

IMG_2834.JPG

work on a floured surface. Make a disk of 5-6 inches diameter

IMG_2835.JPG

prepare the filling: chopped chinese leek, shiitake mushrooms, dry shrimp, salt, sugar, drops of sesame oil and 1 beaten egg

IMG_2836.JPG

add the filling, fold it

IMG_2837.JPG

close it

IMG_2838.JPG

heat a pan, add 2-3 tbsp oil and the empanada

IMG_2839.JPG

cook at medium for 5 min one side, flip it and cook 2-3 min the other side

serve hot

IMG_2841.JPG

it was scrumptious!!! I like it so much more than what I had in restaurant! I love the taste of the filling, and making it at home I can have as much filling as I want!!! Hehehe…. I love love love recreate traditional chinese dishes at home, those that people usually only eat in restaurants! It’s much more accomplishment than recreating a stir-fry, don’t you think?

Q1: Is there a traditional dish that you want to make?

Q2: What’s your relationship with your mom? 

7 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

7 responses to “Food: chinese leek empanada 韭菜盒子

  1. Your leek empanadas look great! Awesome job making them, too. 🙂 I am not very good at cooking traditional Asian food; I think I should come visit for some lessons. 🙂

  2. What beautiful colors–I love that green!!

  3. That is seriously gorgeous. I love love love empanadas, and frequently make the Saudi version – sambusa. Crispy fried on the outside, filled with soft deliciousness on the inside. Thank you for this recipe!

  4. DiningAndDishing

    These look amazing! My mum and I are very similar and very close. But I do miss her a lot now that I live 6 hours away!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. OMG coco that looks soo divine!

  6. Cecilia

    Do you have the exact measurements for the filling, I want to make it so bad. Also, what’s the chinese term for chinese leek. I don’t think I’ve seen them before 😀

  7. Coco, these look SO good!
    My Mom and I are very opposite people so getting along can be a challenge. We do best in small spurts!

Leave a Reply

