Food: homemade yogurt and mom’s cooking


Thanks to csn I finally got a yogurt maker!!! It’s so easy to make and it requires so little effort!

What you need: yogurt maker, milk, yogurt, thermometer and 11 hours!!!

IMG_2728.JPG

the next day, yogurt is ready! 🙂

IMG_2799.JPG

I add some vanilla and stevia

IMG_2802.JPG

breakfast combo of last 5 days! yogurt + coconut apple oatbran muffin

IMG_2807.JPG

I love wonton, the shanghai style so my mom made them for me 😉

IMG_2810.JPG

IMG_2814.JPG

filling is made with chinese greens, shiitake and shrimp. YUM~~~

IMG_2816.JPG

Other random eats: chinese mustard greens sauteed with mushrooms

IMG_2749.JPG

bok choy

IMG_2752.JPG

cauliflower with black fungus, shiitake and pork

IMG_2753.JPG

and I made this for Star: pork belly with 霉干菜 (dehydrated red leaves)

IMG_2754.JPG

IMG_2756.JPG

Since my mom arrived, I don’t think about what to eat anymore because I completely delegated the task to her (although she needs some creativity to master the job 😉 because somedays we’d eat exactly the same thing for lunch and dinner! And I hate eating the same things twice a day! )

Last night I booked ticket and hotel to visit Orlando next week with my mom!!! Can you believe that I’ve never been in a Walt Disney World? Shame on me!!! 😉

Q: Where should I go in Orlando other than Walt Disney World?

8 Comments

Filed under food

8 responses to “Food: homemade yogurt and mom’s cooking

  1. All that Chinese food looks so bright and delicious! And a trip to Orlando sounds so fun. I’ve never been so I can’t help with ideas on where to go, though! 😉

  2. i’ve never been to walt disney world either!

    oh the food your mom makes looks like the ones in restaurants!!

  3. Weighting For 50

    So exciting about your trip next week!!!! Your mom can come and cook for me anytime!!! Have a great day!

  4. it’s so ironic that you posted this because I just tried making my own yogurt with my YoLife yogurt maker. My attempt was a complete failure and I think I’m giving my yogurt maker away to a friend. It was too much effort and it didn’t turn out good at all. I think I’m sticking to my Stonyfield 🙂 I’m glad yours turned out though!!

  5. Ooh! I read about those yogurt makers in a magazine recently–it seems like such a good idea! Would you recommend getting one?

  6. Disneyworld is one of my top targets when I go to Orlando 😀 I can’t suggest any because I’ve never been there too. 🙂 Anyway, those foods look soo delicious! And making a yogurt at home is really interesting.

  7. hehe you got it? Nice!
    Hope you have a wonderful time in Orlando !! Doctor! (Big Congrats!)

  8. congrats on passing your dissertation! such a great accomplishment and feeling.

    so cool that you made your own yogurt, too. i’ve been wanting to try that. and your wonton look delicious!

Leave a Reply

