Life: Hello Doctor!


Thanks everyone for your good wishes for my defense yesterday! I passed!!! 😆

It wasn’t that a surprise that I’d pass because they (chairs of my committee) won’t let me to be in that stage if they don’t think I’m ready. However, the moment I finished the presentation (75min) which I enjoyed a lot because we were laughing, making jokes all the time, I felt relieved. 🙂

Star as role husband and my #1 support group member went to school with me and took pics while I was preparing for the presentation.

IMG_2823.JPG

do I look nervous? I wasn’t 🙂

IMG_2824.JPG

and then another member of my support group Cesar came. He went over ppt with me, gave me some good suggestions.

IMG_2828.JPG

and here’s me, with my committee members after the presentation. (Their face are not shown for privacy reasons)

IMG_2830.JPG

It’s the end of a life project.

I can’t believe I’m done! 😯 It’s too soon to be true. It’s too nice to be true.

5 years ago when I got the acceptance letter from the University of Maryland, I was happy but not 100% satisfied because I thought I could go to some better place.

5 years later I wouldn’t want to be anywhere but Maryland. Although it’s not a top-10 but it has the greatest group of professor (at least in the field of international finance). Some of them are top economists in the field. My advisors are my role models, both professionally and as person. In addition, I found an amazing group of friends, friends that I know I’ll keep for the rest of my life. They’re smart, fun and we genuinely love each other.

I don’t know if the PhD is for everyone and  I don’t know if everyone can find a group of professors that truly supports you and inspire you, and  a group of friends who you love. Probably not. But I was lucky enough to get so much from it. I meet great people, I learned a lot, I gained friends and I ended up with a great job.

At the end of this journey, I don’t feel accomplished, I feel thankful. Thankful for everything I went through and people I met!  It’s a life experience, a memorable and luxurious one. 🙂

Q: What is the most memorable life experience you have?

 

7 Comments

Filed under life

7 responses to “Life: Hello Doctor!

  1. Congratulations!!!! You must be so proud….:)

  2. Congratulations!!! So very excited for you. 🙂

  3. Congratulations CoCo!!!! 🙂 So happy for yoU! all your hard work is paying off/has already paid off! Dr. Coco! hehee I bet Star is super proud of you too! What are your plans for after this doctorate? Where are you going and what will you be doing?

  4. Anita

    Congrats Dr Coco! 😀 😀 😀 What an achievement 🙂

  5. thedelicateplace

    congrats dr! my most memorable was my marriage to nate 🙂

  6. mara

    Felicitiaciones, Dra. Qian!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

